In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The author believes that it is impossible to create a significant contribution in any field without being influenced by past achievements in that field. However, the field of interest plays an important role in deciding the influence of past achievements in a particular field.

In the field of sports like cricket, marathon, etc. past achievements play an important role in inspiring the young generation. These achievements influence a lot of people for particular sports and can influence them to achieve the same success or even more. The future generation hence will be able to make a significant contribution to the related field. The Pythagoras theorem and other laws are paramount factors for new trends in mathematical models.

Without these models, it was impossible for copious progress in the mathematical field.

Some fields, however, require new trends to be followed and new processes to achieve the result. In the field of artificial intelligence, robotics, etc. past references can add limitations to the progress of the process as these fields involve innovation and creativity.

While developing an algorithm in artificial Intelligence by referring the previous algorithms can imitate the output thus resulting in no development in the process. This will not be considered as a significant contribution and hinder the progress.

Conclusively, Past achievements can help to inspire and motivate people for significant contribution in a particular field but it can hinder the progress in a certain field. It's important to innovate, create in particular fields. Hence, the influence of past achievements depends on the field in which one wants to endeavor.