Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Scandal is that crime which is present in every country and is caused because of greed and to be famous amongst society. The author argues that scandals are useful as they focus our attention on secluded issues which cannot be covered by reformers or speakers. I somewhat agree with the claim as it does focuses on important issues but sometimes news channels or other media use it for their own benefit and fail to take further action to minimize the issue.

Certain sectors in the system are not open to citizens of the country and hence people are not aware of wear and tear of the system. Exposing scandals in such system is useful to bring about some issues which cannot be covered by reformers or speakers. For example, Recently Congress leader has claimed that the current prime minister of India is involved in Rafael fighter plane scandal and which brought the cabalistic side of the military operations and has questioned the integrity of the work at higher levels. However, there is no confirmation of the claim and investigation is still in progress but it had brought some hidden working culture in front of the people which was out of any speaker or reformers reach.

The media channels try to cover the scandals for a small period of time and do not make sure about the changes to be brought to avoid such scandals or to bring more stability in the system. Scandals are thus fleeting and do not have strong impact that a reformer or a speaker has to bring about the change in the system. A speaker or reformer is focused on the issue and bring about the problems of the citizens and fight until actions are taken to bring in the changes. For example, one of the social reformer named Anna Hazare decided to fight against corruption and bring about changes to reduce the issues. The issue was widely covered by the news channel for a certain amount of time and then their focus switched after some time, however, he did not give up and was successful to bring about the change that he was hoping.

In conclusion, The scandal is effective or useful to focus our attention on a particular issue where reformer or speaker could not reach. However, the focus on scandals is short-lived and cannot guarantee to bring in the change to avoid further such scenarios.