The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The author of the letter to the Balmer Island Gazette argues for the reduction in the number of mopeds rented during the summer time to reduce the number of accidents involving the mopeds and pedestrians. The author provides with the example of nearby of island of Seaville for the argued policy. Though the island of Seaville was successfully able to reduce the number of accidents by 50 percent, the author doesn’t provide enough evidence for this argument. Further questioning is required for further investigation into this matter.

The author argues for the reduction in the number of rentals at summer time would lead to the decline of annual accident rate. But does not provide any evidence for the same. The number of accidents in the winter time could be far more than in summer..

Further, there is no evidence provided behind the cause of accidents, are they occurring due to mopeds or due the increase in the number of pedestrians. It could be the case that as the number of pedestrians increase, the sidewalk becomes crowded and people are forced to walk on the motor roads which lead to the increase in accidents between the mopeds and pedestrians. The city council should investigate for the causes of these accidents and then decide whether they should take actions on the mopeds or on any other pedestrian related issue.

The city council should also take care that the tourism of the city should not be affected by their policy. Decreasing the number of moped rental, could not only hamper the businesses of the rental companies. But will also hamper the businesses of places which are located away from the city centre. Also, limiting the number of rentals per rental company could also result in the increase in the number of companies and the situation might become the same leading to no improvement.

The city council should analyse the timing of the accidents, the causes and also should think about the tourism of the city to get a wholesome view of the situation and then decide on the policy .