In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Sir Issac Newton when asked about his significant contributions to the field of physics answered that he was able to achieve it because he was standing on the shoulders of giants. In turn he acknowleged that he wouldn’t be able to discover the famous theory of gravity had it not been for the significant contributions by the people before him. He was then able to dive into the world of physics whole heartedly and change the world forever.

Fascination plays a key role in motivating an individual towards a particular field. And motivated individuals are the ones who significantly contribute towards a field. For example, the late founder of apple Steve Jobs was fascinated with computers and electronic circuits from an early age. This was in fact due to the tremendous problems computers solved and the huge hurdles they overcame. He then went on to democratize comptuing to all of human race. Another example could be staged for SpaceX founder Elon Musk who himself was fascinated by the Apollo program which put the first men on the moon. Both of these high achieving and contributing individuals were fascinated by the past achievement in their respective fields.

With the fast changing world, the contribution made towards field expand it exponentially. Any individual who strives to make meaningful contibution towards a field first needs to study the field thoroughly and master it’s basic concepts. Due to the exponential growth it takes many long years of hard work to come to the edge of unknown in that field. Hence motivation is an integral part for any individual to go forward and this can only be achieved by influence of that field on that individual. Motivation in part could come from fascination towards that field but also from influence of past achievements in that particular field.

Some may argue that many people have made significant contributions in the fields which did not even exist before the lifetime of that individual for example, the field of computer science or quantum mechanics which were born in the first half of 20th century. But one needs to understand that these fields weren’t new entirely but a child of a major field. Like computer science was a child of electronics and mathematics and the field of quantum mechanics derives itself from physics. Though these fields have become major fields on their own. But once they were a part of some other fields and so were the contributors to these fields.

In conclusion a strong influence of a field towards an individual plays a key part in the growth of that field.