The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

As the study shows that rhesus monkeys produce higher levels of cortisol when they have an encounter with unfamiliar things. This could also mean that the body of rhesus monkeys or mammals in general produce higher level of cortisol when they are in dangerous situations. An encounter with an unfamiliar monkey or situation could be the body’s way of preparing itself for an unforeseen dangerous scenario.

Rise in levels of cortisol could also suggest curiosity about an unfamiliar encounter for the body. Meeting a new member from the group or getting pregnant for the first time are all new situations for the body, hence to counter the new environment the body increases its activity level by secreting cortisol along with other compounds.

Change in emotions for a mammal or an emotional outburst could also lead to the release of cortisol. The feeling of joy, pain or fear could justify the body needs to increases its activity level. Arrival of parents after a prolonged period of absence or sight some unfamiliar member, these all could lead to emotional outbursts. To tackle these emotional outbursts, the body releases cortisol. This might also be consistent with the fact that higher level of cortisol is not observed when the monkeys meet someone familiar or they get pregnant multiple times. Also as cortisol is not released for other stimulus such as sound or touch. This suggests that stimulus alone cannot be responsible for the release of cortisol.