The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Skateboarding provides people a faster mode of travel in close quarters. Instead of walking by, they can use a skateboard and reach places much faster with the same flexibility as walking . Given the situation of Central plaza, we need to deduce about the behaviour patterns of skateboarders and non skateboarders. People who walk pass the stores have often more time to look at the items displayed by the stores. These non-skateboarders can often wait for minutes near a display item and have more time to admire, think and decide whether to buy that item. Skateboarders on the other hand won’t have the time or the attention of the displays in the shops. Skateboarders would just shop for the things they need and hence the shops may not be able to advertise their products to these skateboarders.

Does the decline in sales only correspond to the rise of skateboarders or are there any other factors which also play in the decline? There has been a decline in sales for the brick and mortar stores in western countries, effect of the growing E-commerce business. Many shopping malls and stores are closing down due to this. The decline in sales at Central Plaza may also be the result of rise of E-commerce business in that area. Lack of marketing or advertisements could also be the reason for drop in sales, as the modes of marketing and advertising are changing from the traditional paper and tele-ads to the new social media marketing.

Are there any other factors which could be explained for the increase of vandalism and litter at Central Plaza? Litter and vandalism could also be explained by the lack of security at the Plaza, are there enough security personnel to ensure safety. Rise in litter could also be due to lack of housekeeping personnel.