The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner of Central Plaza concludes that if skateboarding is prohibited in Central Plaza they predict that business in central plaza will return to its previously high levels. To support the claim, the owner points out that the shoppers in Central Plaza have steadily been decreasing, the reason being dramatic increase in the popularity of skateboarding over the past two years also there has been a dramatic increase in litter and vandalism, many store owners believe the decrease in customers is due to the skateboard users in the Central plaza. At first glance the reasoning may seem correct however the argument is based on certain unwarranted assumptions and lacks in proper correlation between the skateboard users and the cause of decreased business and customers. The store owner only concentrates on the skateboard users without considering other factors that might have led to the decline. Thus, in order to better evaluate the recommendation and analyse its logical soundness, additional explanation is required to answer questions that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

Firstly, the owner claims that the increase in the popularity of skateboard users has caused the number of shoppers to decline, while no actual numbers have been provided to analyse the ratio. Could there be other reasons that could be considered for the decline in number of shoppers in Central Plaza? It is possible that popularity of a new shopping plaza erected in the neighbouring locality resulted in diverting the shoppers towards the new plaza and decreasing the ones in Central Plaza. It could also be the case that the stores that attracted the majority of shoppers might have been shifted or replaced causing the shoppers to decline or increase in unemployment over past two years have resulted the steady decline. If any of the above factors have caused decline in shoppers then there must be an increase in free circulation space in the plaza which might have attracted the skateboarding.

Secondly, the owner refers to many Central Plaza store owners who believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skate board users in the plaza, without providing any further information about other store owners. Referring to the scale as “many store owners” is a vague generalisation and needs further investigation. Is there any specific number of store owners who believes that, do they belong to any specific category of store outlets? Additionally, and importantly no reason for “many store owners” credulity is provided, like why do they believe the increase in skateboarding has caused their business to decline? There could be many other possible reasons that should be taken into account for their business to decline. If these owners belong to similar category then it could be possible that there has been a decline in the demand of those store items or the items that they sell have become outmoded, moreover the item costs might have increased dramatically in the past two years making those store items out of budget for many low income customers. Without answers to the above questions the store owner’s recommendation remains unsupported.

Finally, it is stated that there has been a dramatic increase in the litter and vandalism in the plaza but no relationship is provided between the increase in the skateboarding and increase in litter and vandalism. Are these skateboarders responsible for the littering and vandalism or there are any other factors causing the same? Without any evidence it cannot be considered true that the skateboarding has caused the littering and destruction, if other reasons such as reduced budget of the plaza to appoint enough workers to clean and maintain the plaza prove to be true then there is a serious flaw in the store owner’s assumption.

Further analysis reveals obvious gaps and unwarranted assumptions that render the argument specious. In order to improve upon the logical shortcomings and bolster the argument, further explanation on “why the increase in popularity of skateboarding has caused the decline in the shoppers or the business of other store owners, what other reasons could have resulted in the decline and how the littering and vandalism can be related to the skate boarders” would be beneficial. If the answers to these questions have nothing to do with the increase in skateboarders then the prohibition will not do any better for the business of Central Plaza, the argument as it stands fails to provide a cohesive theory to support its claim.