To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Surely, moral ethics and standards are one of the most important eccentricities of the most effective leaders the world has known till date; they make way for their followers and set an example for the mankind. Public officials who grow as leaders generally lead a larger population that include the groups who belong to different social stratum all together. Considering two scenarios, where a leader who turns out to be indifferent to the destitute might make the poor go through greater hardships and on the other hand a compassionate leader will help alleviate the indigents. The effectiveness of any leader is defined by their virtues and principles, which is why they are chosen to be lead in the first place. Thus, as the statement avers, it indeed is important for any public official to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards in order to be an effective leader.

The statement positively links morals and ethics to the quality of an effective leader. After all, moral ethics and principles not only make a leader stand out of the ordinary but also help leading the society in the right direction. For example, Abraham Lincoln, one of the greatest President America has witnessed, is lionized as an astute politician who played a vital role in leading the cause for abolishing slavery and uniting states eventually giving people equal rights irrespective of their race and creed. As he set an example for the humanity, his moral values and ethics are still admired and followed by many. These set of moral principles are undeniably a benchmark for any public representative across the globe.

Moreover, great leaders stand out from the ordinary crowd mainly because of their justice and honesty. People tend judge their leaders on the basis of their moral ethics and standards that include the sense of key decision making and justice in terms of sex, religion, colour and creed. The world regards Mahatma Gandhi, as a leader of Indian independence movement against British colonial rule, who employed non-violent civil disobedience that led India to independence and inspired civil rights and freedom across the world. He is renowned for dedicating his life in discovering and pursuing truth and living in modest conditions. His principles and ethics motivated many followers who practiced the same morals and standards.

In contrast to the statement, a reasonable person might as well argue that not all leaders obey these moral ethics and still effectively rule the population. However, these leaders when follow unethical practices are at one point or the other, impeached for their misconduct and might not be regarded as effective leaders. For example, Bill Clinton, President of America at one time, is certainly known for his achievements and his contributions towards the economy, but nonetheless, questioned by many as he was involved in unethical scandals. Leaders that present morality in one case while completely loosening the other part of it, set a negative example for the young officials and the society they govern. People considering them as role models often follow the same unethical path to become successful as their leader inspires them to do so, while others attribute this as immoral behavior and their lose credibility from such leaders.

A famous quote by Abraham Lincoln, “nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power” is applicable to any human being. Though leaders not last forever, their morals and values continue inspiring the attitudes of many. It is therefore, responsibility of the public officials to maintain these moral principles within them and at the same time within the society.