The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The speaker concludes that Delany Personnel firm is superior than Walsh Personnel Firm to provide assistance in creating resumes and developing interviewing skills to the laid-off employees of XYZ Company. While it may be true that Delany provides better assistance to the employees, the speaker fails to provide credible evidence to prove that the proposed less expensive firm Walsh is not better than Delany.

Firstly, citing that eight years ago when the company used Walsh, only half of the laid off workers found jobs within a year is baseless as no evidence regarding the number of employees and the reason for the layoff is provided. Layoffs could take place for many reasons other than the ineptness of the employee itself, for example eight years ago a recession could have affected the overall job market causing even a skilled employee to lose his/her job. In such a case it would be difficult to find jobs even with the help of any assistance from Walsh in creating resumes and developing skills and probably using Delany would have rendered the same results. It is possible that the remaining employees might have found jobs one year later when the job market was considerably doing well. Additionally, stating the term “half” of the laid-off employees who found jobs within year is incomputable when we don’t know the actual number or statistics as half could be 0.5 per cent or half the actual number. Without these substantial evidences and statistics the speaker cannot use this information to support the argument.

Secondly the speaker mentions last year’s scenario when Delany’s clients took average of six months to find jobs whereas Walsh’s clients took nine months. Was this average duration taken by clients of both the firms same as last year? Last year’s information is not representative of years before that or for the year to come. While nine months may seem longer than six months a clear correlation between the two firms is not effectively made as the number of clients and the company they belong to may vary significantly. As mentioned if Walsh is less expensive it is possible that Walsh has notably more clients as only a few clients might afford Delany’s frim. For example, if Walsh’s was able to help 100 clients find a job in nine months and on the other hand Delaney was able to help 20 clients find a job in six months then XYZ Company may consider using Walsh. To underpin the argument the evidences of earlier years and number of clients of both the firms must be presented.

Finally, though Delany has a larger number of branch offices and a bigger staff, without knowing the size and branches of Walsh XYZ Company cannot decide which firm is better. Also, bigger staff and larger number of branch offices do not imply that the quality of assistance provided by Delany is better than that of Walsh as this is mentioned nowhere in the argument. Apart from this, finding a job also depends on the skills employee themselves in case where the employee is not hardworking enough then assistance from any firm wouldn’t help. Information about Walsh and its size, details about the quality of assistance provided by the two firms will help buttress the argument.

XYZ company should take into account the quality and effectives of Delany and Walsh Personnel Firms in order to decide which one to use. Without this information the arguments has obvious gaps and lacks cogency.