"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes Happy Pancake house’s customers clearly do not distinguish between butter and margarine. To support the claim the author points out that the change has had a little impact on their customers and only 2 per cent of customers have complained indicating that 98 out of 100 are happy with the change. The author’s chain of reasoning provides an interesting and novel insight. However the claim is based on certain unwarranted assumptions which are not so obvious. In order to better evaluate the argument and analyse its logical soundness, assumptions and evidences must be examined for possible alternative explanations that could account for the facts stated in the argument.

Firstly, the author hasn’t mentioned how recently the change was implemented in the south-western United States. Was it changed two days ago or one week ago? If the change was implemented one day ago then the customers might have assumed that butter is unavailable for the time being and will be available soon. If the same customers repeat then they might realise that butter has been replaced and might or might not complain about the same depending on their choice. But if they don’t complain then that doesn’t mean they are happy about it or they don’t realise it. Hence, this assumption is unwarranted with lacking substantial evidence about how recently the change was made.

Secondly, any details about the past and current number of customers have not been mentioned by the author to determine 2 percent of how many exact customers have complained. Does the 2 percent customer belong to a specific outlet or to the entire outlets of southern United States? If they belong to a single outlet then 2-3 customers out of those 12-15 must have revisited the store and then realised that it’s again margarine and no butter is available and must have complained about it. Rest of the customers might not revisit the store assuming the first time butter was not available. It is possible that few days after the change the number of customers start declining. In order to consider this as evidence the statistics providing the number of customers (repeated or new) before and after the change should be provided.

Finally, the author states that many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead but no data of the servers has been presented. It is important to know how many servers have reported are they 10 out of 100 or 2 out of 5. Also what specific server calculates the complaints presented by the customers? It is possible that if all customers of happy pancake house are asked to fill out a form in which they are asked if they are happy with the replacement of butter by margarine, most of them might check the option that mentions they are not happy. Therefore before making any conclusion it is important to conduct such a survey that would help support the argument.

The structure and logical reasoning of the argument appears thorough at first glance however further analysis reveal obvious gaps and unwarranted assumptions that render the argument specious. The evidences presented in the argument lead to many possible alternative explanations including but not limited to “the change has been implemented just one or two days ago and will take some time and supporting data of customers before and after the change”. With lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the argument as it stands fails to provide a cohesive theory to support its claim.