The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Surely, if a valid argument is able to convince a reasonable person with an opposing view point, the argument must be warranted and persuasive and if it is not able to convince that person then it could be lacking in evidences and information. A reasonable person might think any argument that is able to convince any person with opposite view point is undeniably thorough and cogent. However, it might turn out to be opposite in case the statement does not hold true as someone with less judgement ability could be convinced by a fraud argument or in other case if the argument is obviously valid. Thus, the best test of an argument need not necessarily be its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

The statements assumption is that someone gainsaying an argument is necessarily reasonable or that the argument is controversial enough to have opposing viewpoints. However, if the person is opposing with no persuasive reasons then it will be easier to convince that person. For example, an illiterate person has a view point that PQR real estate agents are better and is presented with an argument that XYZ real estate agents are better than PQR real estate agents because they are experienced in construction since 5 years and are charge less fees than PQR, it will be easier to convince that person with the argument by just few unwarranted reasons without empirical evidences showing the quality of construction they provide. The person might not be able to analyze and question if they lack in knowledge of a particular argument, but that doesn’t mean that someone with astute judgements could be convinced by this argument. After all, it completely depends on the person having the opposing point of view.

In contrast to the statement, one might as well argue that the argument could be a fraud that mentions bogus evidences and convinces someone even with opposing point of view. However, that doesn’t change the fact that the argument is fallacious. For example, in case where a fraudulent company presents a bogus XYZ product to an astute customer deterring its purchase but nonetheless convinces the customer by answering questions and providing fake evidences. Here the customer is beguiled by unethical arguments. Convincing someone with unethical evidences does not mean that the argument is great or warranted. Thus, the statement also depends on the argument’s validity itself.

However, if an argument is valid and is able to convince a person with sharp judgements then the statement might hold true. For example, a business manager trying to convince the book store owner for children’s book space which the owner is opposing due to lack of schools near the store. In this case the owner is not considering the other possibilities that could bring children to their store. If the business manager provides adequate reasons and evidences such as having a children’s day care or any children’s hospital nearby or maybe a populated residential area with additional evidences proving the demand for children’s books by the customers might convince the owner and the argument could prove to be cogent on the manager’s side. Although, in this case the person with opposing viewpoint is convinced this does not hold true in other cases.

An argument depends on the evidences and information presented in favor of a topic. Someone with an opposing view might or not hold their perspective due to lack of insightful thinking or information about the topic on which the argument is based. It would therefore be easier or difficult or in variable cases to convince someone depending on the person and the argument itself. A person holding an opposite view also presents an argument and hence, their viewpoint should also be presented as a cogent case to hold the statement true. Therefore, convincing someone with an opposing viewpoint is not the best way to test an argument.