Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the purported decline in arctic deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. To support the claim the author points out certain reports by the local hunters and the global warming trends. The authors chain of reasoning provides and interesting and novel insight. However the claim is based on certain assumptions which are not so obvious and lacks in correlating between declining deer population and the global warming. In order to better evaluate the argument and analyse its logical soundness, assumptions and evidences must be examined for possible alternative explanations that could account for the facts stated in the argument.

Firstly, the author mentions a report from the local hunters claiming that deer populations are declining without presenting any further details of the report. Which region do these hunters belong to and when was the report taken? It is possible that the hunter’s reports belong to other deer populations and not the arctic deer. It is also possible that the report is outmoded and the deer population is currently steady. Additionally, if the local hunters belong to Canada’s arctic regions hunting the arctic deer and the reports are credible then it is possible that numbers of hunters are actually increasing causing the decline. The author provides no substantiate evidences to prove that arctic deer are declining in Canada’s arctic region.

Secondly, a recent report that indicates global warming trends causing the sea ice to melt. The author mentions no further information about the reports citing which specific region the ice has melted or the report includes information based on which year. It is possible that the report mentions sea ice melting related to region other than Canada’s arctic regions. We do not know which exact time of year this ice melts and freezes and if it coincides with the deer’s travel time as mentioned in the argument. Also, the report could be including information based on the current year and might match with the reports from hunters. Probably, the ice was steady during the time mentioned in hunter’s reports. In that situation, the dears should have been able to follow their age old migration patterns across the sea. Unless this report about the melting ice caused by global warming is supported with empirical evidences the author’s argument remains unwarranted.

Finally, the author also cites information related to the deer travelling and the food they eat. However, it is important to know which island these deer travel to and what plants they eat in order to evaluate the reason if at all there is a decline in deer’s population. Also, more information about the population of deer before declining and after declining should be presented. It is possible that the plants they feed on are insufficient for a large population of deer. Without knowing the statistics showing population of dears and the more information about arctic deer’s the argument is unpersuasive.

The structure and logical reasoning of the argument appears thorough at first glance however further analysis reveal obvious gaps and unwarranted assumptions that render the argument specious. The evidences presented in the argument lead to many possible alternative explanations including but not limited to “out-dated and insufficient reports, hunter’s causing the decline by hunting the deer or inadequate food”. With lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the argument as it stands fails to provide a cohesive theory to support its claim.