In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author comes to the unwarranted conclusion that the people who were interviewed earlier and the people who frequently checked out had different book preferences and therefore the study was wrong based on the evidences given. The conclusion makes some strong decisions which has not been closely introspected and clearly, has made some wrong or half-hearted assumptions.

Firstly, the assumption which blatantly is a mistake on part of the people who took took the study. The poll was taken but the names or any type of identification of the citizens were not taken, therefore invariably there will be difference in the people who responded to literary classics as reading material and people who checked out from the public libraries with the mystery novels. This discrepancy leads to a lot of errors and therefore is not a relevant parameter to declare the result of the study. For example, What if the University interviewed only the people in suburbs while most of the public libraries are in the outskirts of the country. This would lead to aberrant data and faulty results.

Secondly, it could be possible that the researchers assumed the age of the people whom they interviewed to be the same as the people who actually go to the library to read books or even rent books. For example if the University study group, had asked the questions to elderly people above the age thirty but the actual people who went to public library to read and rent books were kids right from age five onwards, then the statistics in the study would be proved wrong since many kids could be fond of the mystery genre and hence frequently checked out with these books. This proves that the assumption of the researchers could be way off and hence the folly in the study.

Thirdly, the assumption that people who were included in the part of the study were working professionals and enjoyed reading the literary books maybe once in a while or maybe spasmodically while the people who visited these libraries were university student and children who would majorly get homework from these mystery novel books and had to keep issuing these books over a period of six months continuously for completing their assignments in time.

Therefore I believe that the result of the research was definitely flawed due to many external parameters and insufficient data collection of the interviewees. If the author does a full systematic research and sedulously of all the given assumptions, then the study could provide some insight to reading preferences of the Wayward country.