The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava concludes that the declining birth rate in their city will allow them provide sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults as they are expecting adult population to increase. At first glance the reasoning may seem correct however the argument is based on certain unwarranted assumptions and lacks in proper correlation between the declining birth rate and having sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs. Thus, in order to better evaluate the argument and analyse its logical soundness, additional evidence is required that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

Firstly, the speaker claims that the birth rate in their city is declining and to support this claim he/she has mentioned that last year’s birth rate was only one-half that of 5 years ago. This piece of information is not sufficient to prove that the birth rate is declining and will continue to decline in the coming years without any substantial evidence. One may consider the birth rate decrease of “one-half” as 1.5 percent of five years ago and if that is the case then the decline is negligible. Last years decline could have been a result of improper medication adopted by some patients or any specific viral infection. One cannot predict the future decline in birth rate, since the last years birth rate is not representative of the years before that and the decade to come. To prove this claim the speaker must provide statistical evidence of birth rates of earlier years and background for the decline to predict the future.

Furthermore, the speaker assumes a decline in birth rate will cause number of students enrolled in the public schools to dramatically decrease allowing them to safely reduce the budgeted funds for education and other athletic and recreational facilities while failing to provide any evidence and consider other factors that might impede this assumption. If the economic condition of the city residents who cannot afford private schools and their birth rate remains the same or increases in the coming years then students enrolling in the public schools will be unaffected or might even increase. In that case reducing the educational funds will hinder the education of economically weaker children. Similarly, the decrease in birth rate does not provide enough ground for the decrease in the proportion of students using athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities.

Finally, the adult population of the city is expected to increase according to the committee but this might actually be reversed if any unfortunate condition causes economic shift in the city and adults migrating to other city. In that case raising the funds for the facilities and programs primarily used by adults might be of no good to the city.

The structure and logical reasoning of the argument appears thorough at first glance however further analysis reveal obvious gaps and unwarranted assumptions that render the argument specious. In order to improve upon the logical shortcomings and bolster the argument, further evidence of “birth rate decline, demographics, proportion of economically weaker section of the city and their birth rate” would be beneficial. In absence of this information, the argument as it stands fails to provide a cohesive theory to support its claim.