Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The anthropologists recommend that future research on the study of Tertia should be conducted via the interview-centered method in order to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices. To support the claim the author points out two anthropologists who studied the child-rearing practices in Tertian Culture. Author’s chain of reasoning followed by the anthropologist’s recommendation seems convincing at first sight however, it is based on certain unwarranted assumptions about both study methods which are not so obvious and lacks in correlating between initial studies to the recent one. However, in order to better evaluate the argument and analyze its logical soundness, additional explanation is required to answer questions that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

Firstly, the anthropologists imply that the initial study by Dr. Field is invalid, based on recent study by Dr.Karp without considering the possible explanations that made the difference between the two studies. Has the island culture changed since twenty years? How exactly the study was performed using observation method? It is possible that the Tertian islands culture has changed since twenty years and even if Dr. Field had used the interview cantered approach twenty years ago the result could have been the same. They also need to examine the methodology of observation performed by Dr. Field and more details about his study’s result should be mentioned. Without considering these details the recommendation remains unsupported.

Secondly, a recent study performed by Dr. Karp using the interview centered approach on a group of islands is incomplete without knowing the interview’s scope of study. What were the questions asked in the interview and who were these questions asked to? It is possible that these questions were asked to children of other islands other than Tertia since Dr.Karp studied a group of islands. Even if the interview is based on children in Tertia, the questions in the interview might have made a difference. If the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents that doesn’t prove that they were raised by them. Also, are those children representative of all the children in Tertia? What about the other children who were not interviewed? Without knowing the scope of the study, the interview approach cannot be considered accurate to study the Tertian child rearing culture. To consider the recommendation it is important to scrutinize the study and its scope by Dr.Karp along with the possible reasons that led to a different outcome than the previous study.

Finally, as indicated Dr. Karp decided that Dr.Field’s conclusion about Tertian Village culture must be invalid, but the anthropologists fail to evidence the reason showing how the interview centered approach delivers more accurate results as compared to the observation centered one. One might argue that the interview centered approach could make the interviewers conscious providing variable information at a broader range or probably, observation centered approach would provide accurate results. We do not know any further details required to compare these approaches. Therefore, to consider this recommendation for the future study of Tertian child rearing practices both the study approaches should be elaborated and analyzed with the help of empirical evidences.

Further, the analysis reveal obvious gaps that render the argument specious and in order to improve upon the logical shortcomings plus bolster the argument, further explanation on questions like “has the culture of Tertia changed since twenty years? What was the scope of the second study by Dr.Field and why the interview centered approach is more accurate than observation based to study Tertian child rearing practices?” would be beneficial. With lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the recommendation as it stands unpersuasive.