Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Major cities play an important role in a nation’s development, both economically and culturally. From ancient times cities have been the centre of power for many nations. Though the claim that the governments should lend financial support to cities as they preserve and generate a nation’s cultural traditions is mostly not the case. Cities have a huge population and can have people from different cultural backgrounds, but rural areas also play an important role in generating and preserving a nation’s cultural traditions.

Rural areas in different parts of the nation follow varying customs and practices. These cultural practices define a nation. Taking an example of India, a country with a diverse set of cultures, languages and beliefs thrives in its villages. The major population in India as in other developing countries lives in its villages, which are often located in different geographical areas, pertaining to different cultural traditions. Hence supporting villages financially which is often what they lack, thrives the cultural tradition of a nation. Also supporting villages in most cases is catering to the needs of the major population. Cities whereas constitute only a small population.

As the world becomes more connected, humans are living in a global village. And cities are like the nodes of this global village. Hence, cities are now having people not only from their own country but migrants from other nation. London today has more immigrant population than it did a few decades back. London is becoming more multi-cultural and diverse. It is able to generate a new culture but it is not able to preserve its old one. As with most people in cities who follow a rigid and busy schedule oftentimes shine away from following their own cultural traditions. Whereas in rural areas the traditions are embedded in the workplace and hence are not only preserved but also cherished by the people.

Cities are often the centre of an economy. A city generates far greater revenue and tax for a government than a village and hence are financially strong. People living in a city often times enjoy a greater standard of living than their village counterparts. A nation should attempt to bring equality not only socially but also economically to its citizens. In order to do so, it should invest in its villages and not just in its major cities.

Cities are the spearhead in the growth and development of a nation. But rural areas are the strong backbone on which the entire nations stand upon. A nation must always attempt to strengthen its backbone and thrive culturally and economically.