The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In this argument, the author concludes that it is an effictive way for the Balmer Island to decrease the moped accidents through restraining the number of renting mopeds, holding several reasons that are seemingly justificated. However, these statement are problematic in several aspects, rendering the argument unconvincing as it stands.

Firstly, in spite of the popularity of mopeds serving as a convenient transportation, there is no credence in the letter that the rental mopeds is a major composite of the total moped number. Though the arguer mentioned that the population slumped to 1...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.