The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

In this argument, the business manager claims that the replacement of butter in Happy Pancake House restaurants in the America has no significant influences on its customers. However, the assumptions are untenable and unpresuasive on several grounds.

Firstly, the lack of complaints does not mean that the consumers are gratified with the change. The author renders the evidence that there are 2 precent of the total customers who complained about the change, to support that most of the consumers are stastified with the replacement. However, there might be a numorous number of people who choose to tolerate the negative experience, but those may not consume in same restaurant once more, hence the rest part are not totally in positive position. n addition, the after-sale service may not be complete, that the angry customers cannot find a channel to complain. Even if they are unstastified with the transfer, the only thing they could do is to swear to go back into the restaurants again.

Secondly, the servers reports are not reliable all the time, based on fact that the data provider are the profit-related party. As for the servers, there is a commen concensus among their manager that, the less the complaints, the better the sever's performance. Chasing for more profit and bonus, there is no denying that some of the servers will cheat for more salaries and tips. Moreover, the manager use 'many' and 'a number of' to describe the rareness of complaints, the indiscrete number cannot be provided as an reliable evidence.

Besides, the receipt of margarine cannot indicate that the customers are not capable of distinguishing between margarine and butter. It is impolite to complain about sauce in the public for most people, and the tiny fault of the server who pass the 'wrong' dish are always not considered as a huge error. However, the ignorance and compassionate does not equivalent to the lack of capacity of distinguishment. Even if there are few people show their discontentment with the substitute, and most customers are satisfied with the change, the manager does not supply enough testimony to justif his conclusion.

In conclusion, based on the scarce credence and the unwarranted logic, the influence of replacement has not been detected throughly and there are several essential factors should be taken into consideration in premise.