"Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage

disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town

residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous

years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase, since charges for

garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent

survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents' strong

commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer

than predicted."

The mayor of the town summarises a prediction made two years ago that Water Egg's landfill will be completely filled within 5 years. He also states that because of residents' strong commitments to recycling the

space available for garbage disposal would last much longer than it was predicted.

Mayor based his conclusion upon assumptions that from the past two years people are recycling twice the amount of aluminium and paper than they did in the previous years. In addition he posits that more material would

be recycled starting next month as price for garbage pickup will increase.

All these assumptions have inherent flaws which question the credibility of author's conclusion.

To begin with, author mentions only about the increased recycling rate of aluminuium and paper. There is no information about other materials such as plastics which are hard to recycle.

Also whether the recycling is being done by most of the households or just a few, is not given. If only few households are recycling waste then amount of garbae will still remain same or increase.

In addition there's no guarantee that increase in price will lead to people recycling more waste materials. There could be possibility that maximum amount of waste is already being recycled in which case the

increase in price of garbage collection would have no effect on the amount of waste being recycled.

Moreover, survey showing almost 90% of people being committed to recycling does not ensure that people will actually recycle more waste in the future. Even if people are committed they might not have efficient

means of recycling the waste after a certain limit is reached.

Also, there's no information on how many people were part of the survey. If only a smattering of people participated in the survey, the outcome of the survey would fail to provide a substantial ground for author's conclusion.

If all these flaws would have been addressed by the author then his argument would have been convincing. But in the absence of counter arguments and their logical rejection the argument is unconvincing as it stands.

To convince me author needs to specify if recycling only paper and aluminium would make a significant impact on the amount of

total recycled waste and whether increase in the price of garbage pickup will be conducive to people recycling more waste. Also author needs to provide the necessary statistical data about the survey and

support his argument that people will in fact recycle more waste in future.