"Unfortunately, the media tend to highlight what is sensational at the moment. Society would

be better served if the media reported or focused more fully on events and trends that will

ultimately have the most long-term significance."

With the flourishment of mass media, it's very convenient to stay updated with news from a multitude of resources such as smartphones, television and newspapers. However it's no shock that most of the news

we get is apocryphal. The speaker claims that media presents news only which would interest people the most instead of reporting events and trends which will be productive in the long run. I mostly agree with

the statement as lately most of the media channels show baseless news just to increase their TRPs. It's rare to find media itself promoting or showcasing the latest developments in technology and news about nation's progress.

Most of the news channels these days show repetitive news for hours because of lack of content. For eg. India TV which is an Indian news channel shows videos of cows being beamed into their spaceship for hours. On other occasions

it channel about the lives of celebrities which is interesting but serves no useful purpose for the public. Some channels go as far as to broadcast episodes of daily soaps. Media these days focuses more on flashy news and content rather than making people aware of the latest developments.

Although, some media channels definitely broadcast news which is useful, but latest technological inventions and achievements hardly make it to the headlines. When India launched its second moon landing mission it did surface on the news channels all day but more peripheral albeit

import discoveries such as progress into medical field do not get much footage. Making people aware about these innovations would fill them with a sense of pride and motivate them to work more for progress of the nation.

Government's latest schemes and programs if shown in the news would benefit people as more and more people can utilize these programs. For instance government of India has made tremendous changes to traffic. It's no longer necessary to carry hard copies of travel documents such as insurance and driving license.

Making people aware of this will help them follow traffic rules ultimately making it safer to commute.

In conclusion it can be unequivocally said that media should focus more on news that will serve a useful purpose and will be beneficial to the people and the country as a whole.