Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with

The author of a memorandum claims that his television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level otherwise current time devotion will cause the reduction of advertisement revenues and viewers of late-night news program. The author relies on several assumptions which cannot be taken for granted thus further evidence pertaining to more information about complaints of viewers and advertiser, and other favorable changes due to its modification of time has to be demonstrated.

Firstly, the author assumes that the complaints of weather and local news are the same as the opposition of change of time table of late-night news program. It is uncertain that viewers who have complaints about coverage do not forbear "the changed time" of the program. If they just want to require the television station to enhance their quality of news or a specific reporter, to restore of the time devoted to weather and local news would be no effectiveness for what the author wants to achieve.

Secondly, the author presumes that scheduling time of the program and cancellation of advertising contract by local businesses have a causal relation, however, it may not be true. Adequate evidence is sparse to confirm author's causal assumption. Local businesses might have canceled their contracts because of their economic situation, marketing strategy, or stop of producing the product which they advertised. To assert to restore time, the evidence related to cancellation of contract is necessary.

Furthermore, even if advertisers of local businesses do not want to advertise via the television station due to the time devoted to weather and local news, and the viewers have a complaints because of the same reason of businesses, it may not mean that to restore of the time is the best choice. Because, the change of time happened over the past years, certain businesses choose to contract with the television station considering the time schedule of current form. Thus the television station has to balance the profits of getting new businesses who choose the station recently and the cost of losing the some local businesses who do not favor the new time policy.

In sum, the author suggests that it is better to change their time devoted to weather and local news to its former lever, but this argument depends on unjustifiable assumptions thus to strengthen or weaken the claim it is necessary to present further evidence related to his or her unstated assumptions.