Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

From last year onward the local late-night program has shifted their attention to showing more national news over local news and weather. The business manager concludes that to attract more viewers and gain back the lost advertising revenues, they should restore weather and local news showcasing. The arguments that the author provides to validate this conclusion is supported by weak evidence, including aimless correlations, unjustified assumptions and lack evidence; therefore, the author's conclusion is flawed.

Firstly, the author aimlessly correlates that due to shifting from local news to national news they have lost advertisement contracts. There is not evidence presented which show that the lost contract are being given to another local television station. It might be that the local businesses, who had contracts with the television station, have shutdown and no longer require advertisement. If the author were to present evidence that the businesses whose contracts they lost are still open and their advertisements being displayed on another television station, then, the author's argument might gain some merit.

Additional to aimless correlation, the author uses unjustified assumptions to reach the conclusion. The author states that giving more time to national news over weather and local news has created multiple complains from viewers concerning the weather and local news coverage. However, the author does not dictate what kind of complains they are and whether the viewers are from that local area. Did the viewers complain about wanting more weather? Or did the viewers complain about the weather and local news host not doing a proper job? Without clarity on the complaints the author's conclusion is a flaw supported by an assumption. But, if the author was able to procure evidence which suggested that local residents were complaining that they wanted more time for weather and local news then the author's conclusion would gain integrity.

Despite the unjustified assumptions, and aimless correlation the author's conclusion may have some merit if the author is able to provide sufficient statistical evidence. In the event the business manager categories the concerns presented by viewers then based on the analytical results the author's conclusion might be valid. If the results showed that viewers complained about not getting enough time for weather and local news times then the business manager's conclusion is strengthened. However, if it showed statistically that the viewer's concerns were over the network reception during weather and local news, or the host of the two categories then the author's argument would be weakened as the concerns were not against the time period for which the two categories are shown.

As the current conclusion stands it is supported by aimless correlations, unjustified assumptions, and lack of evidence; therefore, as presented currently it can be stated that the conclusion is flawed and debatable. The business manager should procure more statistical evidence, and hence has more work to do for the conclusion to have more validity.