Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers

Educational institutions are there to guide students for a better future, this would include encouraging students to choose a field of study based on the probability that high financial success can be gained in that field. While the claim sounds like a good idea in which many children can receive a brighter future; however there are two reason why I think that this policy can do more harm than good. First, if institutions were to have encouraged someone of the great literary authors or technology wizards we would have lost gems because those fields were not lucrative enough to encourage students toward. Secondly, if students are encouraged towards fields without taking into account their passion for the field then in the future the student will lack motivation to progress themselves in the field and will be stuck in a phase where it will become difficult for them to escape the field and start anew.

If educational institutions were to encourage their students to choose fields which is prepare them for successful careers then they could end up loosing the next Bill Gates of the decade. Assuming that the policy was implemented back when Bill Gates was in highschool; if the educational institution he had attended had encourages Mr. Gates to take the field of Finance or Politics over Computers then we would have lost Windows. Not only would this have altered the field of technology but it would have negatively impacted the whole world, all because Bill Gates institution encouraged him to alter his field based on what could have led to success at that time.

Another reason why educational institutions should avoid "actively" encouraging their students on what field to choose is that, if a student were to progress ahead with a field they did not like then in the future the student would lack motivation to work in that field. This scenario is very common in India as there are a large magnitude of adults who were forced to take "Chemical Engineering" in college because during that time it could have lead to a lucrative career. Now majority of those adults works in the Chemical Engineering field without many motivation but the monthly wage which they receive leading to possible mismanagement as there is no will to properly do the work.

Actively encouraging students toward a field where wealth is guaranteed is not beneficial for all. There are drawbacks to doing so like lack of motivation from student in that field, or the possibility of losing brilliant minds in other fields.