Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Educational institutions are instrumental in shaping the students' views, but also adults they will be, along the curriculum. The chosen field of study is however all too often determined by familial expectations, apocryphal prestige or the tendency to look at the wage after graduating. In this regard, I dissent from the author's stance and strongly believe that it is the teaching profession's role to guide pupils toward a career in consistence with their wills, permitting one to burgeon.

As most professors have opted to take a path that best suited them by imparting a determined field's knowledge to students, they should replicate this pattern and urge them to choose a field that make them feel living. Educational institutions, through pedagogues, have the same responsibility and role to play as Anne Sullivan did in the development of Helen Keller. Transparent informations and keys for students to flourish as professionals and well-educated citizens are the nature of their assignments. Thus, the idea of prosperous professional fields should not creep over people's passions and predispositions, for money is at best a consequence and not a stimulus dictating the common path to a whole generation. This is also evidenced by wealthy entrepreneurs and professionals, who became so because of arduous work in a field that appealed to them.

This exposure implies ludicrously that some careers are boxed into one category, labeled as non lucrative. The affluence of the individual isn't contingent upon the chosen field of study, but have its genesis in how one divert his skills into a business. An art student with a proclivity of making deals might have a far more lucrative career than those who have been encouraged by their professors to attend mechanical engineering classes while they wouldn't to, or for the mere reason of being touted as financially sumptuous. This arguing could apply to myriad scenarios.

It is also crucial to note that the so called lucrative careers are imponderable, especially since post-agrarian societies. For instance, American students who were spurred to studies of finance by their surroundings back in early 2000s, for these were synonymous to substantial incomes, have found themselves stuck in a crisis that left them without job at all. Thousands of Leman Brothers' employees have indeed been fired in 2008. National and international laws being sometimes enacted at the expense of certain professions are also testament to the fact one should always be driven and helped by instructors based on his predispositions. It would also be easier for students to rebound after such vicissitudes, and would prevent them from depression.

To conclude, educational institutions are custodians of the core of a society i.e culture. While there is no reason for them to discourage students to undertake determined studies for lucrative careers, areas like economics or private equity shouldn't impinge upon the arts, literature or philosophy. Otherwise, a nation would be soulless, the theoretical subjects ignored, and its citizens mesmerized by the only goal of gaining money.