Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

For a nation to properly burgeon, its ruling parties must address the problems besieging the people. No action undertaken or stance embraced can however be labeled as efficacious unless politicians do so irrespectively of location, time, ethnicity. Therefore, it is true that no generation should be neglected on the altar of a potential future betterment, but governments must heed the anticipated problems of the future.

Constituents elect politicians with the hope that present issues hampering their growth and well-being as individuals would be tackled. This is mostly evidenced when situations turn to be worsened or do not evolve, for people express their will of reshuffle through ballots. The governments of poor and developing countries, for instance, are inclined to ponder over solutions to current, and often, pressing issues. Solving problems of undernourishment, water's dearth and health, or curbing the unemployment rate might prevail over an ecological transition in India or in Mali; and one cannot blame such countries to have a myopic view.

Emergency situations should also be taken into consideration. Terrorism and natural disaster have indeed always been considered vicissitudes that needed to be hastily handled by politicians from right and left parties on the political spectrum. Governments solving the immediate hurdles also act as a bulwark to avoid them to cumulate and grow to be more complex in the long run. Despite the ruling parties should not be absolved of their responsibility toward present situations, it is essential to seize that even the aforementioned instances require great amounts of time, and are present problems that would be solved in the future. Otherwise, 800 million of humans wouldn’t be starving daily.

Our minds tend however to realise how grave is a situation only when we actually face it. But unlike the laity, it should reside in the duty of governments to display eminent qualities, have a holistic view, and acts contingently upon it. There is no better situation embodying this dilemma than the ecological crisis. Keeping investing massively in industries, for instance, while these results in the depletion of fossil fuels and threatens our conditions of life as well as our children's, is oblivious nay criminal.

In this regard, awkwardly fails the author to understand the nature of problems, especially at a wide scale. Be they political, economic, or social, present problems have their genesis in the past, and the future ones will have been the consequences of current behaviours and blind decisions. Since this pattern is clearly identified, with the means we dispose of nowadays, anticipating the future hurdles might permit avoiding the so called immediate problems. Investments would be directed to causes that who benefit the majority and enhances the overall well-being.