It is often asserted that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. In reality, however, formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Many philosophers, even pertaining to eclectic schools of thought, are unanimous on the positive impact education has on our minds. It is the pivotal key for social mobility, it permits us to raise to prominence in any field, and embodies the feeling of being intellectually powerful. In this regard, I strongly agree with the first part of the subject. However, after assaying the different scenarios related to knowledge, it would be clear that the debate extends beyond the educative surrounding.

Admittedly, formal education is not perfectly drawn for all of us to sheerly burgeon in our professional and personal lives. Since early school, we are needed to memorise lines from textbooks and try best to rewrite or narrate it once in classroom, despite we blatantly don't understand half the knowledge imparted. Grades and tests as cynosure and the substantial pressure that besieges students fuel this vicious circle, and mould most of them into robots. It is also true that the educative system is designed such as the students to be tested periodically, causing them to have a myopic view of knowledge. Instructors are then required in order to foster the art of inquiring, and spur pupils to find answers and seize concepts by themselves. The veracity of the teaching conditions leave scant space for such an ideal though, for most professors are overwhelmed by over-peopled classrooms, and educational institutions lack of means.

On the other hand, many people have been flourishing throughout their years of study and keep on doing so in their adult lives. Therefore, I can hardly embrace the idea that the main accountable of people's mind not being free would be a formal educative system. The academicians, for instance, whom are the essence of culture and free spirit, have all been through such conditions. It doesn't preclude them from having an avid desire of knowledge. This dichotomy then highlights the proclivity of certain to be self-sufficient.

The debate arisen by the author also necessitates a more holistic stance, as one can't ignore that the feeling of being circumscribed within a parochial surrounding is present in myriad scenarios. From being a baby to a pensioner, we tend to all have the same behaviours and undertake similar actions in determined situations. Only few mavericks are ready to follow their heart to maximise their potential. I thus strongly believe that it comes under our responsibility as individuals to set our minds free.

To recount from an earlier argument, a great deal of knowledge is imparted to children. While for some, a mere attention to professors' speaking suffices, others need additional work at home. In both cases, it is up to them to make the effort to capture its meaning, and not only to undergo the class. Nowadays, we are even provided with infinite sources of knowledge on internet and in publics libraries, which might satiate anyone; but most people fail to note how much lucky we are to live in countries where it is significantly easy to access a maths theorem, economics theory or prodigious novel. Indeed, it is more convenient to hide ourselves behind a faulty system.