Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

The celerity with which innovations spread within our fields of studies as well as in our daily life i.e work, home and so on, is undeniable. The author avers that these tools divert our concentration from actual learning, however I reckon that this debate merits further discussion.

As explicitly said in the assumption innovations offer schools improved methods for instructing students and the gains derived from these far outweigh their potential diverted uses. Slides through computers or videos with subtitles to teach foreign languages can metamorphose insipid and pedantic instruction into a pragmatic and living interaction where teachers and students can engage in a collaborative process to render learning more enriching. In higher grades not only these tools do not distract from real learning but heighten the interest and concentration as students in astronomy, for instance, would be delighted to benefit from NASA's satellite orbiting, providing them with live informations on the interstellar system. Some contents on platforms such as Schoolmouv or Youtube also act as bulwarks for students who need additional explanations or for those whom home's studying follow-up is hardly apt. It is also crucial to comprehend the defining role of technologies in our current and future world, and an initiation at computers' use is a prerogative to ace in most fields.

While it is clear that computers and the Internet can act as facilitators in the learning process, the conditions and scope in which these technologies are supplied must be carefully demarcated, taking into consideration the field of study or students' ages. However, distraction does not arise from any material support, which at worst accentuate it, but from students themselves. As the old adage goes "You can lead a horse to water but you can't force it to drink" thus students who are not interested in or have decided not to be so, might find whatever thought or object passing by more attracting than is the taught topic. Moreover, since schools and universities are able to incorporate such facilities into the learning process, they can control and monitor it as well by restraining their use to the required extent. Schools in modern days implement this on a wide scale, by means of centralized monitoring systems and locked softwares.

Opponents may argue that one can not ignore the veracity of the teaching's conditions in many countries, illustrated by motley hurdles facing pedagogues when it comes to fulfill both tasks, teaching and overseeing forty sixth-form students who are trying to circumvent the barely updated school's internet control, due to the lack of funds. Their adoption does not suggest either these being panaceas of ills plaguing education. Indeed, these find a great number of detractors because of being all too often used as the substitute of professors, which causes distraction from real learning. As it does not prevent students from giving up, pedagogues are then required in order to thoroughly pay attention to their needs and gaps. Some research conducted this year reported that the worldwide lockdown, along the use of videos and computers alone have been detrimental to students and have been distracting them from real learning.

To sum up, such modern tools contribute to provide the best environment for students to be well prepared, the impact of which should not be undermined nor exacerbated.