Learning is primarly a matter of personal discipline ; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone

“I never teach my pupils ; I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn”. These lines by Albert Einstein succinctly capture my views on the process of learning and the role of pedagogues in education. Though, I will be qualifying the view put forth by the author, for personal discipline relies on a motley gamut of circumstances

At school or college, the necessary information required by the students is imparted upon them. Whether the student assimilates and indeed captures the essence of the knowledge conveyed is a matter of pure personal discipline and motivation. This is evidenced by the time children enter elementary school. Interests differ from one pupil to another, and so do the proclivity of being self-disciplined. While some are, others would be distracted by anything passing by their thoughts. It is the classic case described by the adage "You can lead a horse to water, but you cannot force it to drink". If students are not interested in learning the subject addressed, they often switch off, ignoring what's being taught and focusing their attention elsewhere.

Underachievement among American youth is often blamed on inadequate teachers, boring textbooks, and large class sizes. There’s another reason for students falling short of their intellectual potential: their failure to exercise self-discipline. Therefore, institutions of learning have the same responsibility and role to play as Anne Sullivan played in the development of Helen Keller. Instructors must act as facilitators in the learning process. They should foster the art of questioning and inquiry and actuate their pupils to seek answers independently. It would provide students who are already focused on their learning with additional goals and means to broaden their knowledge, and enable those who are not thourougly disciplined to seize why learning is a personal path that evolves along a continuum, and worth pursuing. Learning would then remain a matter of personal discipline, instilled and feeded by school and college.

The author however overlooked a main stakeholder of this debate i.e parents. Personal discipline, especially in academic fields, does not arise from a silo or a vacuum but is an attitude tangibly handed over from one generation to another. This is mostly evidenced by the low rate of working-class parents' child in selective courses, masters or Phd. The French sociologist Bourdieu has called it "cultural habitus". It manifests itself from the early stages of education, and is according to him, the main accountable for the differences in self-discipline, grades, knowledge's assimilation between two children of the same class. What might be seen as a pedantic and absurd self-discipline by some, is however for the others, a scholastic attitude that must be adopted to thrive over the learning process.

These datums and surveys incline me to believe that learning is a personal quality that depends on the interests of each individual, but may blossom with the right stimulus in environments conducive to a thorough impartation of knowledge - namely social and familial surroundings