Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Admittedly, the fallacious character of certain editorial policies might confound people, and even biase their judgements towards their leaders' or models' achievements and failures. Some of the contemporary medias' idiosyncrasies are the genesis of a distortion of the information and its sense. Television, which elicits all our senses and is often instrumentalized to choose its own heroic figures, paves the way for tendentious ideas towards the heroes not considered as such by a little elite. Media's scrutiny, as evidenced by tabloids, is the catalyst for people to be boxed into standard definitions social groups, and in some manner, precludes us from regarding living men or women as heroes. The blinkered idea, for instance, that athletes have sumptuous living and are superficial is endorsed by the majority.

The eco chamber fueled by reporters, but which also constitutes the people's demand, has truly been devastating for many artists viewed as heroes. Information's simplification and discontinuity, or the lack of insight and nuance help distill insidious preconceptions, and the judgement would be made even before people take the time to carefully analyze the ins and outs of an issue. Given the complexity of our world, a good reputation is quite hard to maintain. This duality though, since the great majority might be manipulated but is also avid of personal informations or additional analyses, calls into question the unique responsibility of media in this debate, negating the unqualified statement made by the author.

The notion of hero like Homer or Plato in their times, is far outdated. Barring the aforementioned limits of the contemporay society, one should also consider the human mind's tendentious inclination to readily acclaim a politician or a social activist, and to subsequently ,and mistakenly hate this person due to superficial reasons or apocryphal errors. Not only the eco chamber precludes societies to erect a human being as a hero, but both the celerity of our lifestyle and our failure in carving out strong traits of personality or a cogent opinion, are instrumental in the author's claim. Citizens as individuals shouldn't be deprived of their cognitive skills, nor of their capacities to assay the veracity of sayings and images. Indeed, it also lies in their responsibility to counterbalance and not to take all what might be asserted in social networks or television as gospel truth. Passivity and intellectual laziness are contingent upon each person.

On the other hand, the positive impact of media shoudn't be neglected. It is indeed of great importance, for it permits us to be truly informed and unveils the grim facet of many public figures. In this regard, these are instrumental not in diminishing the reputation of public men and women, but merely in throwing the light on their actual essence. Heroes' and models' picturisation in many people's heads don't actually mirror their own values, and instances abound among people once glorified, and then loathed because of wrongdoings. Tiger Woods' sexual affairs and mental instability embody this part of the arguing; and permits shifting the debate into a perception more realistic. While heroes were once considered as such when they sacrificed themselves for God, the philosopher Tocqueville brought forth an idea of the hero paired with egalitarianism. Chivalrous atitudes and astonishing performances aren't amount for a humanbeing to be perfect; and making mistakes or having defects when being viewed as heroes shouldn't either divest these people of their oustanding character.

To conclude, one can't repudiate the potential harmful consequences for public figures to be subjected to media scrutiny. Though, it only consistutes a part of the influence over the laity and don't supplant the unique ability of our species to think by ourselves as highlighted by the philosopher Descartes in his statement "Cogito ergo sum".