Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The author awkwardly asserts that all students should be required to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. While they might derive several benefits from such experiences, I believe that this unqualified statement merits further discussion. All the conditions must be assayed and taken into consideration before the debate can be substantiated.

To begin with, all the positive impacts flowing from this semester spent abroad should be enlisted. In traveling in a country far from their own, students would gain in maturity and independence. The eclectic conditions of study and living incline one to adapt to new habits, eliciting empathy, and a cultural exchange would arise. If the language spoken in the chosen country happens to be the same as the one studied along the curriculum, students would significantly improve. Otherwise, they still could use English. This process may open up new horizons in the long term and provide students with job prospects. Educational institutes also stand to benefit when students' experiences and different methodologies and processes embraced in these countries are added to their curriculum.

One can't however overlooks the astronomical costs of this exchange. Additionally to potential local tuition fees, students will be faced with quotidian expenditures such as rent, bills and food, embodying a significant burden for the most underprivileged. The financial gap between poor and rich students' families should then be the first reason for not rendering compulsory this exchange. It would then reside in universities' duty to assume these charges if anyone can't do so, but these are actually unaffordable for almost all of them.

Exchanges between universities have been done since decades, and several outcomes contrary to those expected, have grown out of this process. The nature of the classes attended are defining when it comes to study abroad. Laws, for instance, vary from one country to another and there is thus scant interest for an American to take civil law courses in Spain or France. Such mismatch applies to different fields, and between many countries. On the other hand, many professionals are in accordance on the laxity in terms of grades or stringency, towards international students. Most of the time, the studying semesters slide into extended holidays.

Institutions in partnership with universities around the world such as AIESEC offer people the opportunity to study time in foreign countries in an environment similar to the university’s, even providing a host. They are allowed to choose the duration and location of their experience, and the nature of their voyage vary from an internship in finance to a study case on the country's gender gaps. Such compromise might be an alternative to the requirement of students spending one semester in a foreign country.