Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Teachers are the emissaries of education, cornerstone of our society. Their role is to provide students with a holistic view of the respective fields conveyed so that they can burgeon in their personal and professional lives. Given the complexity of the task, often prejudiced by the plethora of aspects I will try to address in the subsequent passages, it would be clear that professors' skilfulness is not contingent upon their students' academic performance, negating then the view posited above.

To begin with, the frame within which teachers' salaries should be assayed, according to the statement, is obscure. It hasn't been clearly drawn whether the assessment must be done periodically, monthly or by calculating the median grade of the children having attended their classes after two, five or ten years. One can't either fail to consider that some topics are viewed more arduous than others by students. The national average in equation solving tests, for instance, is lower than the one in optional languages. Therefore, an experienced maths professor possessing a PhD might earn half a supply Spanish teacher's wage in the United States.

Votes aren't either always the best yardstick of the comprehension's degree of what had been imparted to students. Many swallow as much information as possible before exams, without seizing the core of the knowledge transmitted, often readily forgotten one week later. Since the role of pedagogues is to educate students and imbue them with an avid desire of learning, with curiosity, grades are too superficial to ascertain whether a teacher is competent and valuable. Some teachers might even be inclined to prepare students only to the national exams, which in the long-run, would mould citizens into robots.

The exposure proposed by the author also fuels the already unequal education system, insofar the professors of major cities' centre schools, or rich surroundings, would be far more awarded than their counterparts in underprivileged areas. The gap existing between certain disparate social strata, would rub off on the salary of the teaching profession, despite most of them put their nose to the grindstone, for certain children to slip out of their all planned out, brooding and less colourful, future. On the inside of schools, the classrooms are randomly assigned to professors, in which the students' level vary even before the year begin. The proposal would thus result in wages granted to professors independently of their abilities, and biased by red tape.

Harmful ramifications might even extend beyond the boundaries of inequality, rising the resort to unfair means to reach some goals, unethical to this profession's essence. If their salaries were directly proportional to the students' academic performance, certain teachers might be tempted to be less severe, lenient, or indulge in malpractice. We would be living in a society where teachers are like traders, engaged in a race to wealth. It is, though, important to highlight that in many countries, even the most developed, professors are underpaid and struggle to properly do the job they are in love with. Besides a fixed salary, evolving equally for all of them, there is no reason for not lauding brilliant minds by means of additional payments, granted through germane assessments.

To conclude, the instances I humbly threw the light on highlight that academic performance is insufficient and doesn't mirror properly the efforts put through by professors. The students' progresses, feedbacks, and extra-curriculum activities are other possible instruments of measure.