Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The debate arisen by the author is multi-layered, inasmuch as societies' proper operation is contingent upon the fairness of its judicial system. Therefore, it is essential for laws not to be frozen but evolve along the development of societies, especially because they are telltale of their essence and mirror its values.

As highlighted by international institutions and conventions, there are laws common to all countries. Behaviours and decisions related to the well-being and integrity of citizens as individuals must indeed be ruled by laws irrespective of places or time. On the other hand, the amendment of laws, when necessary, has to abide by stringent supervision and cogent implementation. Otherwise, the later all too often slide into the realm of personal interests and serve the powerful, denoting rampant corruption.

It is crucial to seize that laws are only instruments used by professionals to ensure safety, protect minorities or demarcate commercial trades. Their uses might vary depending if the law had been deliberately or unintenionally infringed, on what grounds and for what reasons. Laws shouldn't thus all be subject to permanent reassessment, for it lies in their custodians' responsibility to adapt it to situations. While you cannot impose the same punishment to someone who killed for mercenary gains and one who did so to save his own life, some laws have to be inflexible. This forces people to follow rules because they are afraid of, and urges the cognisance of the fact that if they act wrongly, they will be punished upon them. If equality in terms of law isn't always paired with equity, in most cases, the flexibility has thus to be shown by judges, lawyers, and citizens when jurors.

One can't either fail to consider that many laws have been changed or promulgated by considerating the surrounding; the pervasive consequences of which have permited enhancing the well-being of many citizens. The authorisation for women to vote is a quintessential example since back hundred years ago, such a fundamental right were a man’s prerequisite in the United States.

On the other hand, child marriages were a common practice in early Indian society. At that time, the girls and boys were being forced to marry at a very young age. This resulted in very serious implications, as early motherhood for girls, or no possibility to further education. The nation was then undergoing a defining change when its citizens realised that this practice was an actual subjugation of children's rights. A need for imposing a ban over it ensued, and these marriages are now illegal. Had the judiciary system not been flexible enough to incorporate such changes, this could never have been possible.

The law is the people's need, made by and for him. Its proclivity to changes, carefully assayed, is thus a prerequisite for societies to properly burgeon.