Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Before the debate can be substantiated, it is essential to comprehend the conundrum concatenated to the issue raised by the author. Knowledge is indeed complex per se, for it is a limitless reservoir but a limited resource to an individual or a whole generation. The more we know, though, the more we can understand our world ; but it is also true that the more we know, the more we realise to be philistines about it. Therefore, an either-or answer to this dichotomy would lack significance, and after weighing the pros and cons as detailed below, it would be clear that the more we know, the more mankind grows up and burgeons.

To begin with, despite fundamental technological, theoretical and practical advances in a plethora of fields, almost all the components of universe such as dark mater and dark energy remain to be unbeknownst to us. In recent research, neuroscientists have also asserted that we only use a little part of our brain. These instances are telltale of two defining constituents feeding the debate: science holds the key to understand our world, which at the same time, is and will always be an everlasting source of intricacy.

Contemporary world is relentlessly changing, and the manner in which maths, biology or chemistry evolve and throw the light on many recondite and obscure topics, sets the tempo of our lives. As we acquire more knowledge, certain habits and practices change, and scientists as well as the laity are in a state of flux, regenerated as soon as academicians have contributed wonders to our world. The main explanation to this phenomenon is that the scientific process evolves along a continuum and there is no end at it. The discoveries made in certain fields have even caused to repudiate previous beliefs and theories, to the extent of reshaping entire areas of study. The works on genetics, on the world's shape or on the human's genes are testament to this fact. Thus, to imbibe its core, one should have a thirst of learning but also accept, as Heraclitus said, that the world is subject to change, its only constant.

The world's complexity, from the human body to the interstellar system, can then either be regarded as a problem, an unresolvable quandary, or as a silver lining. Indeed, it provides people with infinite and passionate information to seize the genesis of our close and remote surrounding; but also permits us to fuel our cognitive skills, and the knowledge acquired is what distinguishes human beings from any other form of life, putting us at the rank of the most advanced species.

The last argument flow from the previous ones, and it is instrumental in this debate to put things into perspective by looking at our society, say, a hundred years ago. The celerity with which medicine, for instance, has grown to be more comprehensible, and all the positive impacts ensuing the progress and discoveries made in this field far outweigh the data and concepts we don't have fathom so far. Additionally, the fact that science reveals to us that the world is persistently more complex doesn't mean that it wasn't so before our epiphany, and shouldn't either preclude us from rejoicing in and benefiting from the most brilliant minds' discoveries.

To conclude, the quest for perfect enlightenment is more a form of myth than something palpable; and even though the learning process paves the way for additional quandaries, one can't ignore the positive sprawling impacts that the comprehension of our world has on our society.