Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The author purports that studying its heroes and models is the best way to seize the core of a nation. Given the complexity of the modern society, and because a nation isn't a singular entity, but a multidimensional one, in which eclectic sub-cultures cohere to define the essence of a society, I am disinclined to stick to his stance and believe that these people aren't an accurate sample for a deep understanding of the character of a society.

Many heroes and models are considered as so because of their talents or proclivity to appeal to the people. The idea that our contemporaneous heroes embody eminent bravery or stunning qualities, is outdated. The mere fact that in almost all countries, irrespectively of location and ethnic group, the same professions are idealised, reveal a need for the majority to dream and slip out of their quotidian routine. Indeed, South Korean teenagers exalting groups of pop music and the Kardashian family being the most worldwide popular on social medias aren't telltale of the struggles of the Armenian people, nor of either country's ethos. The main point of this arguing is that the society’s character is comprised of habits, religious dogma, beliefs or food trends.

It would also be hard to do so, inasmuch as heroes' or models' picturisation in many people's heads don't actually mirror their own values. Instances abound among people once glorified, and then loathed after the light had been thrown on one behaviour or expressed opinion. For instance, Brutus’ betrayal do not reflect at all the “honour before death” value of the Romans; Tiger Woods' affairs and mental instability can't be a scale to define the moral and character of the American society. Thus, studying heroes and role models might prove to be a misnomer. Only looking to a singer, influencer and athlete because of their popularity would be significantly superficial in order to understand the values of a nation.

The aforementioned statement finds merits if one would examine the character of a society by having the necessary benefit of hindsight. The politicians, activists or entrepreneurs, citizens chose as heroes or models are firmly contingent upon the economic or political status quo of their country. For instance, slightly before the second World War, Hitler was viewed as the saviour of Germany by the great part of its people, while the French and British citizens labeled them as nazis. One could by no stretch of imagination be frozen in such thoughts now though, and considering this face to be the German society's highest ideals would be sharply fallacious. Abraham Lincoln, touted as the greatest president of the United States, wasn't so in his country, at the time he had opposed slavery. These dichotomies highlight that different time call for different kinds of leadership, and the whole set of the society's values cannot be boxed into the personification of a temporal model.

However, being interested in the religious dogma help to unveil the cultural and spiritual sides of its society. Investigating into art and architecture will help fathom the creative aspects, while probing into education, laws and politics as practised by the people will give us a clearer picture of the maturity of the society. The cultural and scientific achievements, or the history though its philosophers might also be a means for students, scholars or the laity to understand a society.

Despite the characteristics of heroes and models may be used to emphasise and determine how culturally vast and contrasted the society is, it is insufficient and presents several limits. Hence, examining in greater details the social, educational, spiritual, economic and political aspects of any society is the best way to study it.