The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Companies' defining argument for selling a product or a service, is by boasting of being faster than their competitors. Fast-food are prevalent worldwide, from children to retirees, one can't bear waiting for more than few seconds to be connected to social networks or pass phone-calls, people are now used to pay for the faster services ; and we all grow to be impatient and petulant. One should also stop and consider why most people from major cities are keen on going in bucolic and calm landscapes during holidays. Contemporary life is oppressing and raises many issues that weren't pressing in the past. Mental healths issues such as stress, anxiety and depression, leading sometimes to suicide, abound and increase along the celerity peculiar to current lifestyles.

We also live within a defining period, as it permits us to analyze how this rapid pace of life in which new generations are growing with, has subversively affected the eldest. It is indeed primordial to take into account the disparate idiosyncrasies between generations; and social researches draw a conclusion in which it is asserted that even the over 70 find wide merits in the race to innovations and technologies. The manner, however, in which this phenomenon prevents us from carving out strong personality's traits, is harmful. Life's rapid pace call into question the very essence of doing things, and circumscribes our tendency to reflect. Pragmatism has supplanted theory, and the meaning or surrounding of many behaviours and decisions are biased by the need for people to act and react immediately. Having the benefit of the insight is often precluded and the multitude of occurrences require us to have an opinion on all the topics, despite not being competent. While it is true that it is interesting for the majority to be aware of what's happening in another continent, it is a nonsense as we are not truly interested in what's happening in our own neighbour.

It is also essential to think about the major dilemma facing international institutions as well as many countries' ruling parties i.e exponential demographic growth, for this is heading our planet to be peopled by almost ten billion humans by 2050. In this regard, life has to be more rapid than it was fifty years before, and less than it will be in a century, insofar it mirrors our needs and demands. The vicious circle we entered since post-agrarian societies leads this debate to a defining juncture: Should we slow, due to the problems it causes, the social and economic process of contemporary world on the altar of our progresses and the needs it created?

It is undeniable that the race to innovation has permitted solving plethora of problems besieging people, that it has also grown to be essential in the development of many individuals, providing them with means for education or health care. However, this rapidity has solved many problems that have been created by it. For instance, many tumours are caused by the proximity between herbicide and humans as highlighted by the lawsuit opposing Monsanto and Dewayne Johnson, the result of the race to intensive farming.

As humanity evolves, problems ensue, but despite the shape of these vicissitudes being far different from those of centuries ago, many of these patterns saw the light of the day long time before the systemic issue addressed by the author. Past societies were faced with similar problems, and leaders with an avid desire of power; greed or competition, have always existed right from the time of Crusades. The increasingly pace of life style and the problems bound to it, is nothing more than the consequence of the human's essence.