The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

To recount from the statement, it is important to note, before the debate can be substantiated, that luxuries aren't the fruit of contemporary life. The definition of sumptuous living might have evolved along the development of our societies, but right from the Renaissance period, opulence existed and have always been a form of myth. I am thus in accordance with the author, about luxuries preventing people from carving out strong personality's traits, but this isn't contigent upon modern society. The race to wealth, independetly of time and places, was, is and will be a bulwark against personal flourishing.

Uptake and influence of modern culture, or how we use new technologies, are personal choices. Many people keep tackling problems head on, embrace causes, or engage in associations; and all are defining constituents of the strong and independent development of individuals. Some instruments have permit democratizing problems peculiar to underprivileged surroundings; the ecological consciousness wouldn't have emerged without social medias relaying worldwide the consequences of deforestation. We cannot either ignore that conveniences, accompanied by the struggles toward their position in the society, have permit transforming the routine of many women. Relying on technological material should though, nowadays, be balanced by strong upbringing, and more theoretical discussions.

Materialism is by nature, in its essence, deleterious for the people. Therefore, one should stop and consider why the founders of social networks and gadgets preclude their own children from subscribing it. The laconic message sent to our brain when we use them is indeed insidious. Most of us perceive them, as means of freeing our mind, but the veracity hidden behind their processes is disparate, for they are designed to enslave us. The flowing tide of information, the infinite amount of applications and websites, the race to likes, or social relationships we feed through phonecalls and text-messages, mistakenly give us the impression of being informed and having developed a strong and deep character.

By means of social study, research and academia corroborate that people have tendency to less strive so as to reach their pinnacle in a field, and to more enjoy from the superficial aspects of the contemporary life. Admittedly, modern world may be a stimulus of such behaviours, but can by no stretch be the responsible of the conveniency of people. I would like to lean my argument on the inspiring words of the French singer Jacques Brel "…stupidity is idleness, characterised by the thought : That's enough, I live and I'm fine." The philosopher Kant indeed underlined that laziness was peculiar to human beings; so then, current surroundings at worst, increase our proclivity of being intelectually self-sufficient.

To conclude, modern world waxes our dependence to conveniences, the impact of which have help ameliorate the development of our societies, but often stymies our's as individuals.