Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The field of study chosen by the student often pave the way for his future life as entrepreneur, academician, engineer, but all more, grounds his bases as individual. Therefore, to blissfully burgeon as worker and citizen, one should heed his interests and talents; the consequences of which might extend to gains at a wide-scale.

To recount from the statement, it is crucial to note that the marketplace most often regulates itself alone. Both students, and the availability of jobs cater to each other needs; and there is no country where many jobs within finance abound, for instance, while too much students graduated in literature. The high unemployment rate of certain countries have its genesis in myopic decisions of ruling parties, or wrong international policies. However, as happened in India during its years of intense development, ramifications antithetical to the ones expected might erect. The government through educational institutions had indeed enticed students to undertake engineering studies, which curbed the demand in the field due to the plethora of mechanical and computer sciences engineers. Nowadays, it results in a brain drain towards the United States or France.

Our societies evolve as fast as new technologies are developed, and so do the job-market. AI was hardly sought-after twenty years ago, and the marketing through influencers might use up in five years. These instances embody the fact that the trends of the job market are sometimes imponderable for the laity, and only basing one's choice on the availability of jobs in a field might leave students with nothing but outdated skills. Moreover, financial crises are telltale that even the most flourishing fields are exposed to severe reshuffles. Thousands of bank workers were fired by Leman Brothers in 2008, despite this sector had been touted as one with high jobs' availability. Focusing on one's talents when choosing the field of study might also act as bulwark against depression and suicide over such vicissitudes.

Admittedly, there is no reason for students not to take into consideration the demand on the job-market when opting for a sub-field rather than another. If there is a predicted boom within electric mechanics, one might orientate his choice of major towards this area, instead of fossil engineering. However, the first ground of the decision should remain passion, which has always driven people into doing wonders. Examples from great scholars to maverick entrepreneurs corroborate on the fact that only if a persona is keenly interested in his field of study and work, will he reach his zenith.

The first part of the statement however awkwardly implies that the most theoretical subjects should be ignored. We would then be living in a soulless society in which the arts and philosophy are sacrificed on the altar of more pragmatical areas. Even intangible benefits might flow from studying a field we are interested in; the overall well-being of a nation, since its citizens daily work in fields that suit them. People would be focused on improving their work, and be less inclined to complain about it. Scant amount of violence might be the pinnacle of the potential positive consequences of this exposure.