Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Based on the assumption that revitalization through leadership is inherent for any enterprise to succeed, the author maintains that those in power should step down after five years. I would qualify the view put forth though, as different situations call for eclectic kinds of leadership. What might be considered long-time governance in some fields, is insufficient for others. Assaying individually all the scenarios would best settle the dichotomy.

In "An answer to the question : What is Enlightenment?" Kant pinpoints how much laziness is peculiar to human being, whose consequences translate into a need for the majority to be incessantly stimulated. Otherwise, people tend to rest on their laurels. The cognizance of their assignment being time-bound might, as much as expected outcomes, urge leaders and ruling parties to readily and aptly undertake actions. In regard to the philosopher's stance, revitalization is a stimulus for these fields to be properly fed and run.

Such an exposure presents a double impact, since it acts as a deterrent for those who had envisaged leading for personal interests or at worst, restrain in time their field of action. Especially in politics, long tenure causes the leaders to grow increasingly autocratic in the way the address public issues. Right from Lenine back in early times to Alassane Ouatara today, many instances embody the fact that long-lasting regimes all too often slide into the realm of dictatorship. In being intrepid towards reshuffle or accountability, politicians might misuse their authority while in power.

This characteristic also applies to business and old companies denoting a smell of monarchy due to the power being transferred from parents to children. Mistakenly are the same interests and sakes preserved, and handed over from one generation to another, resulting in a hindrance to actual success. Their resignation would thus be the catalyst for an efficient operation.

However changes in leadership might act as a discontinuation of certain policies and procedures, central to the success of an organization. Educational institutions, for instance, necessitate to gradually stage the implementation of curriculum or the incorporation of tools such as new technologies, the impact of which might hardly be ascertained in half a decade. Long-time experience is a prerequisite in these assignments' longevity, and any change would only be akin to a loss of valuable expertise.

The aforementioned claim also ignores enterprises that sheerly burgeon with a strong leadership, working on behalf of workers. Time shouldn't be the main yardstick of rulers' substitution when an organisation progresses and evolves along a continuum. Had Bill Gates been forced out of the power of his company, Microsoft would not have been such a successful organisation. These instances incline us to believe that even if those in power lack inspiration or are stifled by hurdles, revitalization isn't always the surest path to success.