The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The greatness of individuals heavily depends on the field they strive in to accomplish wonders. Yardsticks differ for ascertaining politicians' excellence, whose main task is to work for people, from the conditions, often intangible, for an artist to be widely lauded. If an answer needed to be provided, I would say that people viewed as eminent by their contemporaries, often mirror the tendency of the generation ; and there isn't a constant veracity regarding individuals' calibre.

Neutrality is often an asset when personal interests are part of the equation evaluating the greatness of individuals. Consider politics, which displays plethora of leaders lauded at their times, wrongly, others were sharply contested despite that their struggles paved the way for society's betterment, but also some of them, truly appreciated by the constituents as well as their descendants. Therefore, it would be up to a strong and unbiased citizen to recognize the qualities and improvements of a leader, irrespectively of period, personal stances, and feelings.

It is however true that time, like death, often gives a sacralized dimension to people who culminated in doing wonders, and waxes the anger towards individuals who subjugated others. This duality can be delimitated by contrasting, say, Lincoln and Hitler ; or Descartes and Kant.

Having the benefit of the insight is even primordial in science fields, whose trial-and-error approach necessitates decades for a discovery to be properly ascertained or endorsed by the whole community. Since knowledge is a limitless reservoir, and the race to truth is more a form of myth than something palpable, many discoveries and theories in physics or astronomy, for instance, might grow to be false after centuries of blind beliefs. History is rife with instances of scientists, whom despite being celebrated nowadays, were taxed with being self-indulgent or crazy at their time. The well-known stories of Galileo, or Bruno's, embody this part of the arguing.

The pinnacle of people, though, can't only be contingent upon their achievements. In this regard, the statement implies that there would be a popular court, judging all the advocates that lived in the past when something turns to be false, by swiping out their careers and labelling them as anything but great. Many advancements or posited theories have seen the light of the day partly owing to past struggles, which even if repudiated now, remain to be astonishing achievements considering the surrounding in which these occurred.

One can't fail to consider that a pattern erects, common to mavericks from motley fields, whom were ahead of their time. Their works, achievements and struggles indeed had required too much imagination, or an outstanding holistic view, so that the laity, but even the professionals, would have been able to seize their sense. Not only the aforementioned fields are made of tendentious positions, but sports and arts are additional areas, in which time can either be an asset or an insidious criteria. Recently at the end of the XXth Century, Marcel Duschamps has called into question art's traditional conventions with his "Ready-Made". While his brazen mind was what caused him to be ignored by his peers, it is nowadays the reason of his prominence.