Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational instituitons are instrumental in shaping the life of students. Be it along or after the learning process, most people exalt professors when they are fascinating, or loath them because of soporific, hackneyed speakings. This dichotomy highlights the defining impact of the teaching profession on the path chosen by students, leading me to disagree with the author's stance. I then reckon that instructors have the same responsibility and role to play as Anne Sullivan did in the development of Helen Keller.

Mistakenly does the statement imply that many students set goals for themselves far beyond their capacities or talents. Some might be overly diffident, or do not properly burgeon due to pressure, inadequate surroundings, or plethora of other reasons. Scholastic underachievement does not necessarily stem from pupils' proclivity of being undisciplined, lazy, intellectually limited. These institutions, through professors or psychologists, are then required to pinpoint the needs, potential and slip out the best of every student. It thus comes under their responsibility and duty to unravel the conundrums concatenated to failure and provide resources for students to succeed.

It is also important to note that no one can utterly predict the outcome of a student pursuing one field or another. Educational institutions having responsibility to dissuade anyone would amount to exert an awkward form of authority over students' future, and this is erroneous for two reasons. Pedagogues might not be the best accoutered for assaying the full potential of pupils. Ranging from Michael Jordan to Jack Ma, instances abound amid great scholars, entrepreuneurs or athletes, who have been detered from choosing a path, before going on to become stellar leaders of their respective areas. Thus, not pursuing a will nay a dream because of an error of judgement is deplorable, and would have deprived history of such talents.

On the other hand, while some might be precocious and display eminent qualities, others need additional time to comprehend a topic, no matter how they enjoy studying it. This does not preclude them from being successful scholars either as most students blossom once entering college. Therefore, dissuading them instead of conveying abnegation sends a laconic, negative message. No successful human being would have culminated in his apotheosis without committing a mistake, learning from it and subsequently adapt apt methodologies and behaviors. Such a myopic view would be akin to giving up as soon as one faces hurdles and denotes deleterious impacts, extended beyond the only scope of education.

The author also overlooks a main component of success i.e passion, which accompany people through the most awe-inspiring achievements. By nature, we are attracted by subjects kindling our curiosity even before the cognizance of whether Mother Nature had endowed us with a predisposition in this area. If it is not the case, it should not be up to educational institutions to ascertain the field of study in which one is likely or not to succeed and sharply orientate his choice. Their responsibility, though, is to acquaint students with the possible hindrances of a field by bringing about transparent informations and accurate methodologies related to it. Both would engage in a symbiotic and collaborative process, and students would be able to realize their potential alone, from which success would naturally flow.