Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than immediate fame and recognition

Contemporary society embodies an increasing pace of life, the race to immediate recognition and fame being one of its most insidious corollary. Additionally, to most people the surest path to blissfully and peacefully fulfil their needs would be by sticking to a realistic goal. However, the unqualified assumption merits further discussion, for short-term goals aren’t necessarily paired with seeking immediate reward, and realism tends to be subjective.

To begin with, one can’t fail to consider that immediate fame or recognition, as implied in the very adjective’s derivation, are at variance with long-term efforts and travail, notwithstanding these are entrenched trademarks of actual success. Some research conducted in the United States reveal to us that most children falling short of their scholastic potential have its genesis in their myopic approach of life, which evolves along a continuum and is a long journey rather than a sprint, though. This has several reverse consequences on individuals when they grow up, but also on society as a whole. The race to fast money-making, and immediate recognition’s seeking then, exemplifies this deleterious facet of our society.

Along the advent of social networks as well as the runaway growth of population, the insidious idea that success, fame or even reward are within easy reach, is mushrooming. A few mavericks aside, it would be hard for a young and sophomore teenager not to be deceived or attracted by this perception. Therefore, the author’s statement finds even more merits inasmuch as only adults have the benefit of the hindsight and the experience required to properly direct children in the meet path forward. The incipient appearance of a middle class worldwide undergirds this view, for many young people close in on achievements and opportunities that were before quixotic for their parents. In this regard, the familial nest as well as the educators or psychologists in the educational surrounding are instrumental not only in encouraging but also in guiding and helping them carve out a strong personality to burgeon in the long-run.

It is also true that success is the tip of iceberg, often the easiest part to envy or admire; but there is an underlying feature common in many reputable people. Be it in sport, academia or corporate worlds, the main constituents of one reaching their zenith are arduous work and dedication; and only in being encouraged and conveyed that these are the unique reliable values in life, will children be able to understand its very essence.

No one should however be remiss on the dormant but harmful innuendos of the author’s statement. To recount from the introduction, the so-called realistic goals differ from one another, and what might be perceived as a chimera by the majority is nothing but a palpable objective for others. It is also true that the taste for taking risks gets contained as people grow older, and this phenomenon is, in my opinion, as deleterious as is the sought-after immediate fame. Indeed, the myopic views of certain parents and professionals circumscribe the children’s dreams and to some extent, prevent these very same dreams from becoming realistic goals. Most people also tend to associate long-term goals with academic paths, but realistic goals can also be very short-term objectives, which one after the other, constitute a long journey. Since our society evolves, so must do the mindsets, and the idea that children having short-term views are mesmerised by money or fame, is erroneous and ageist.

To conclude, there is an irrefutable correlation between realistic and long-term goals, which still proves to be the sturdiest way for the majority to blossom throughout life. All people should however be cognisant that the idiosyncrasies peculiar to each distinct persona are the reason for our heterogeneity and our species rising to prominence; and these should prevail over nay form of normative pattern.