To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

From Athens to our contemporary world, major cities have always been instrumental in shaping the economic, social, cultural and political status of their country. They are windows through which people can conveyed and perceived the most important characteristics of a society. While it is true that small towns and villages partly comprise a country, I believe that studying its major cities prevails if one is to understand a society

Admittedly, major cities have the largest population, and a society is made up of people and its characteristics are mainly decided by people's behaviours. Thus, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its people, the way they behave, the businesses they run all the more as most jobs aggregate in major cities since post-agrarian societies. In a context of globalisation, one could hardly misunderstand the major role metropolises have. They are peopled by myriad nationalities, drawing the backdrop of each country. This phenomenon highlight a defining feature of the contemporary societies i.e multiculturalism. Hispanics in New-York, North-Africans in Paris or Japanese's descendants in Sao Paulo also tell us about the past history of these countries.

While opponents may argue that many major cities have lost some valuable traditions that got diluted through the years of development, it would be quixotic thinking that such transformations did not reach most of the small towns. The characteristics of a society do not either only lie in the bucolic beauty of rural areas or in visible traditions, but are perceptible in people's spirits. Somehow, it might be easier to grasp these in major cities, where unlike small towns, people might be less wary of foreigners and more inclined to show themselves.

One cannot fail to consider many monuments in major cities that not only bedazzle many tourists with their beauty, but utterly capture the truly essence of their society and culture. The Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral in Florence or the mosque of Medine are both testament to this.

It is also crucial to note that in large societies that have eclectic cultures, the characteristics vary from one region to another. Many speak different languages, rely on different businesses to make a living or basically do not belong to the same ethnicity. In such cases, major cities are custodians of the preservation of heritages, and instrumental in understanding a society. Thus, if one wants to learn about a province, the most convenient and efficient way is going to its capital. Italy, United States, France, Morroco are quintessential instances that embody my arguing.