In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Right from childhood, most people have hobbies, passions and dreams that make them feel living, and incline them to look to the ins and outs, and the achievers of this field for inspiration. Uptake and influence of an environment to try to contribute something prodigious to it are often prerequisites, and I concur with the author in this regard. It would be up, though, to a few mavericks to create their own path.

Mistakenly might one confound being strongly influenced with lacking imagination or copying his peers. Though, it is not synonymous with a dilution or loss of innovation but would be triggered to have a wider significance. An achievement in the medical field, for instance, is the result of years of collaborative and symbiotic process.

Inspiration is a defining constituent of our essence as humans, and is what makes our lives more colourful. It embodies the continuity of the goals we set for ourselves and might act as a stimulus to achieve wonders. Therefore, it is essential to note that no sub-field can work on its own and a substantial number of the inventions, discoveries and the use we derive from them flow from past inspirations and achievements. Our past is the foundation of present, which itself will be the grounds for possible significant future outcomes. Since ideas and imagination do not arise in a silo or a vacuum, one must look to what had been accomplished earlier to comprehend and thus impact a field. This is true in myriad scenarios from history, to mathematics and computer sciences.

The statement of the author is, however, unqualified as he outright ostracises potential contributions influenced by past achievements within different fields, but also the markets no one entered before. In business, some entrepreneurs have created entire professions and fields on their own. They might have extrapolated knowledge into an incipient ideal, but got off the beaten track to do it. Such an arguing finds also merit in the arts, where influence is boundary-less and cannot be boxed into one category. The sixth symphony of Beethoven was indeed influenced by the sounds he had heard during his walks in the countryside.

One should also stop and consider why human is the most advanced race in the known inter-planet system. The curiosity and daring temper of some scientists, entrepreneurs or explorers are also what distinguish us from animals, computers, and have led them to take paths less traveled. Edison and the electric bulb, in 1880, is a quintessential example. While before him no one would handle such a phenomenon, for it was touted as too dangerous, it has been his bent of mind orientated to what he believed in, not in what others had accomplished, that rendered people being able to properly live after the sunset.