Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Contemporary world's essence denotes an increasingly pace of life, the race to immediate reward being a consequence of it. While it is true that realistic goals are often the surest path for people to peacefully fulfil their needs and to enjoy a serene life, the statement made by the author is very awkward as non-always incompatible ideas are here juxtaposed nay opposed. Indeed, an idealistic goal isn't necessarily paired with immediate fame, and short-term aims don't preclude people from carving out strong personality or flourishing lives in the long run. Thus, for the debate can be substantiated, further discussion need to be undertaken.

Nowadays, seeking immediate recognition is emphasised due to the proximity of celebrities or entrepreneurs with the laity. New generations are growing with the idea that fame is within easy reach along the advent of social networks; moreover the appearance of a middle class make many people close in on achievements that were before quixotic for certain social strata. In this regard, the youth must be encouraged but also accompanied by their families and professionals in order to flourish in any aspect of life. The satisfaction after long-term efforts has a delicious taste as endorsed by the adage "The harder the fight, the better the victory".

Fame and recognition shouldn't be a goal for youth people, but at best a consequence of arduous work. Be it in sports, corporate area or academic fields, children have to be conveyed the principle that only by being consistent with a defined cynosure, will one culminate in achieving wonders. Consider a person setting long-term goals for themselves, such as wanting to become a doctor. On one's way to attaining such a goal, many insidious hurdles and temptation might come on the road, and young people often lack foresight to repudiate these hindrances. Therefore, more experienced people are required for them to stay on track.

Additionally, one can't fail to consider that immediate fame is often at variance with long-term efforts and struggles, despite being actual success' trademarks. Some research conducted within the American youth reported that scholastic underachievement in the United States is due to children seeking momentary results, which is often the catalyst for dropping out of school. The failure of educational institutions and certain families to urge on children that patience paired with work are the main constituents of success, shores up the view put forth. The race to fast money-making, for instance, and thus immediate recognition, is another harmful phenomenon of our society. People are inclined to put aside probity for the only purpose of mirroring sumptuous living, resulting in increasing rate of criminality and a soulless society.

There is, however, a subtle underlying meaning in the statement made by the author, that is in my opinion, elitist and outmoded. Admittedly, professional and personal less traveled paths would not befit the majority, but it is the idiosyncrasies peculiar to each individual that should direct people's future, not formal convenience. The latter all too often circumscribes children's dreams and preclude these same dreams from growing to be realistic goals. Parents' and professionals' myopic views in terms of the youth's potential or will, is as deleterious as is immediate fame sough-after by them. Some mavericks' proclivity of being errant has also lead our species to be the most advanced, and has permitted enhancing the overall well-being. Also, the so-called long-term aims often referring to studies, aren't suited for everyone. Our society evolves, and so must do the mentality, and the idea that youth, whom want to rapidly undertake projects or follow uncharted paths, seek to be extravagantly illustrious is ageist and erroneous.