Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The accidental nature of many discoveries, biological breakthroughs that were nothing more than serendipity, and the prevalent trial-and-error approach in scientific research incline us to believe that this field needs freedom, more than anyone else. I wouldn't be as unqualified as is the author though, as the areas likely to significantly impact and affect our lives are also the most subversive.

History is sufficiently rife with instances in which scientific research, whether bound to the government or not, went far beyond the potential risks of an experimentation. Let's focus on the multitude of crimes committed under the garb of research over the Second World War. The German government indeed considered the Jewish as guinea pigs, inoculating them the mortal disease "typhus", and using some of them to flirt with the risks linked to alimentation. In 1945, two bombs were dropped by the United States, killing millions of innocent Japanese people, the consequences of which extend till now with children's malformation. These instances remind us the grim face of our humanity and highlight that a scope is required for the development of any project related to humans.

It is also crucial to note that the medical field, or the new technologies are subject to stringent control and process before any research can see the light of the day. The collect of datum operated by companies like Google or Facebook must be checked. The Hippocratic oath and the "primum non nocere" principle must also be backed up by laws and governments asking for accountability. Otherwise, pharmaceutical laboratories would grow to be remiss on the possible side effects of medicines, whom could test anything for a pittance, the poor people bearing the brunt of such practices.

Admittedly, judicial systems are outdated in the legislation towards innovations and scientific development, especially when there isn't precedent. The rules neurosciences, for instance, should abide by can hardly be accurately ascertained by congress-men/women whom studied politics or macroeconomics as major course. However, governments are the unique body able to appoint committees of expert to regulate and demarcate the set of boundaries which scientists shouldn't exceed.

These arguments don't preclude scientific fields from being innovative or paving the way for a future replete with technologies. Our societies' development but also ours, as individuals', rely more and more on science, which mostly impact positively our lives. It is more than ever essential for governments to unravel the conundrums concatenated to scientific research. Budget issues, the balance between risks and benefits, and the ethical debates when growing lumps of human brains' in labs would be best tackled if clear restrictions and possibilities are drawn.

To conclude, scientific research, like any other form of expression or society's improvement, must be boundary-less within its own frame, demarcated by governments working for the people