Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that arts can flourish and be available to all people.

Others believe that government funding of the arts threaten the integrity of the arts.

Many countries subsidise the arts to some degree. While the French are orientated towards their film industry, the USA gives very scant support to artists, but funds free access to national art galleries; and the British government, through the Arts Council, has supported arts projects, some of which have even invited controversy. After weighing the pros and cons as detailed below, it would be clear that the arts must be guileless and flourish free of vested interests. It shouldn't either be the prerogative of an elite or wealthy people.

Plethora of instances over history denote that with the government's financial support, the arts have steadily grown. The Renaissance in Europe and the great number of stellar artists growing out of this period are testament to this fact. Many of those that are celebrated today had indeed been founded by royals or patrons relatively close to the political muscle. These donators had comprehended that artistic temperament is not compatible with a routine or a typical 9-to-5 job, and the funding of artists so that they can fully express their talents is required.

Government funding of the arts is not either necessarily synonymous with a passive relationship in which the money citizens pay as taxes is prodigally expended. One could imagine a collaborative and symbiotic process where the nation and artists can engage in, so that arts can flourish and be available to the majority. Those who benefit from the public support might, as a way to give back to the society, give lecture in schools, prisons and underprivileged environment for the arts not to be only regarded as an elitist leisure. Book festivals, public galleries or free entry in museums once a week are other ways to democratize the arts.

It is also important to note that literature, paintings or sculptures are pillars of our moral education, of civilised societies, and it thus must be up to its rulers to fund it. As they provide unique moral insights without which nations would be soulless and blind, the arts must not be sacrificed on the altar of mercenary free market capitalism, which itself threatens his integrity. Capitalists might be philistines but that does not mean that the entire society would be made culturally illiterate by abolishing state funding of the arts. Only the state can do it in a responsible way, appointing committees of artistic experts to make responsible and impartial decisions.

On the other hand, considering arts funding by the state deprived of pernicious influence over artistic expression and development would be quixotic. Such a stance would result in politicians favouring one art form (often traditional painting or sculpture) rather than others, more conceptual. The ideal and essence of arts itself are incompatible with state, or arguably, any stakeholder in a position of control or authority. We have also learned from the past, especially with communist and extreme regimes, that funding of artistic projects all too easily slides into the realm of propaganda. Art should be free to criticize the government, otherwise it cannot burgeon.