Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that arts can flourish and be available to all people Others believe that government funding of the arts threaten the integrity of the arts

Art is the beauty of the soul. In its diminishing state- a resurgence is necessary, a quick resuscitation to bringing back its lost glory. The role of the federal institutions would go a long way in saving the glory of the beauty of the art. Government has always been an institution for sustainability, empowerment, and meeting the needs of the citizen. Its ardent capacity to show support for any part of the society - people, culture, technology would go a long way in harnessing growth, awareness, and a mind-centered approach from the citizenry towards such institution. Their role can never be under-estimated in ensuring the progress of art it self. Government funding is necessary as private institution devalue the importance of art - a feat which has seen art almost dead in its supposed hay days. Hence the need for Government to save the institution.

Public awareness is a major instrument in ensuring an institution flourish, this awareness can only be supported, or initiated by the public institutions - Government. One of the major advantage of having the Government step in is that it would be able to funds for advertisement, awareness creation, public campaign and collaboration with private institution (mostly entertainment industry). The idea of creating an awareness policy for the institution itself would promulgate the arts, and also ensure that its probably sustained. An example is Nigeria - where the Government of Edo State funded the art gallery exhibition, participants from all walks of life were invited, and a six months campaign involving all media houses kicked off. The participants were introduced to the newly built museum, hence giving them the opportunity to be a part of the Glory of the art. This helped to resuscitate the artistic nature in the state. The need for awareness by the media would help sustain the growth of arts in any country. This awareness can only be championed by the Government.

Government funding could also come in a handy way by creating an enabling environment for arts to thrive. Most dissident and deteriorating states of arts tied to the lack of enabling environment. If there are stiff laws that could threaten the growth of arts in any society such laws need be revised and adjusted. Certain tax should be avoided and removed within the institution of the arts, hence it could help foster the growth of arts. This is because in a tax laden society, the art institution is likely to grow cold, and wither away with time. Imagine an artistic museum paying heavily on tax which is higher than their annual profit, such is a No! No!, and would not suffice. The major advantage government can help is to reduce the tax burden to a minimum level (harmless) to the art institution, and also give leverages to every individual involved in artistic prowess.

However, Government funding could be lethal, and dangerous if the funds are not available or if the next government sees no need for supporting the art institution. This would destroy and depreciate every efforts, and success that have been achieved by the arts. Also, most government institutions are not trusted when it comes to issues of funds - as they would use such opportunity to siphon, and embezzle monies (all in the name of funding arts) using them for personal gains and profits. These allegations may later come up in subsequent years, and would hamper and dent the image of the arts - a feat which would take them years to wipe their name off the bad books. Hence it is therefore necessary to set up a financial monetary agency responsible for check mating the funds (how they are distributed, their usage, and the results of the spendings)

Arts brings beauty to life, the picturesque scope of a museum, the symphony beauty of music, and the gallery of artistic drawing coupled with the roses of a beautiful flowers are all essence of life. Government funds are necessary to sustain it, but much caution is needed also.