The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

In almost all the stratifications, right from prehistoric times when tribes were prevalent, to democracies, eclectic forms of governance have always risen. It translates into a need for us to be structured, and even comes under our survival according to Hobbes. While it is instrumental in preserving our well-being, I would be inclined to stand by the author's view. Indeed, authority shouldn't be frozen but must evolve along the development of societies, the outcomes of its questioning being positive and sprawling.

No doctrinaire leader has ever been regarded as an asset to his country. Despite the highest HDI of Africa and a significant economy's growth, the living conditions of the Lybia citizens do by no stretch of imagination resemble well-being. This is mostly evidenced by the fact that people need authority as much as authority needs challenging; the power of questioning is thus central for the nation's proper functioning, in which its citizens can burgeon as individuals. Politicians not being answerable to the laity always result in corruption or rights’ subjugation.

An election isn't either synonymous with a blind trust in whatever leaders do or undertake during their mandate. Beyond the risks, aforementioned, of an absence of authority's questioning, it is important to note that governments make mistakes, sometimes have myopic view, or do not grasp the hurdles facing constituents. Answering their demands and grievances is then a prerequisite for the overall well-being of a society. By means of demonstrations or democratic reunions, citizens have always permit to enhance the functioning of their nation. Had women not question the absurd patriarchate not allowing them to vote, Kamala Harris wouldn't even be vice-president of the United States.

Participative decision making is thus propitious for the society, but also for the government. The dialectical process it entails serve to sensitise both parties to each other’s views; the government to what the people want and the mundane citizens to various problems that abound in policy implementation. It is a way for politicians not to be only perceived as bourgeois haranguing the people and for the laity not to indulge in a class struggle for the mere reason of being anti-elitist. Therefore, authority's questioning acts as an impetus for the citizens to be involved not just in the strategic process, but also at the grassroots with the actual implementation in their local communities. This idea is prodigiously highlighted in the book "The Wisdom of the crowds" where in, the author maintains that groups are remarkably intelligent, often smarter than the smartest people in them, and this is true in myriad scenarios from economics to national good.

Persistently calling the government's authority into question might sometimes slide into conspiracy. Apocryphal theories flow from it, some of these even growing to be legitimate school of thought such as negationism. It doesn't either imply citizens being deprived of such a fundamental right, nor should they abstain from expressing their stances. This deleterious fallout indeed strengthens the fact that it does come under citizens' responsibility to participate in their country's political life by asking for accountability or decisions' reassessment. However, it also lies in their duty to do so properly and cleverly, on behalf of the country, for this to never be neglected.