Some people claim that a nations's government should preserve its wilderness areas in their natural state. Others argue that these areas should be developed for potential economic gain.

The consequences and repercussions of our daily activities are detrimental to the biodiversity, and threaten the health of the land we all live on. We conveniently ignore the harmful consequences of many undertaken actions to animals, flowers, but also to our peers. A plethora of reasons explain these behaviours: sheer egoism, the proclivity of enjoying anything at disposition, ignorance translating into an insouciance for what will happen in future, and the unacknowledged feeling that the temporal benefits we derive from such investments far outweigh the potential fallouts.

It is then essential to always keep in mind that the so called wilderness areas are what permit humans to live in conducive conditions for their growth as individuals and as a whole. In only two decades, hundred millions of hectares have however been deforested for the only purpose of mercenary gains. Trees provide us with Co2 allowing us to breathe, oceans are the source of our second best need, drinking, lands are the grounds of beautiful mosques and cathedrals, of our houses, and eclectic environments present us means to fulfil our nutritive whims. In hindering the proper development of these natural entities, we cause harm to the future generations. Thus, it comes under the responsibility of governments not only to preserve the wilderness areas but also deter the concerned stakeholders from pursuing these modifications.

One cannot either overlooks the respect that these areas deserve independently of the relationship that bound them to us. Despite the fact that most people assert that the human life prevails over any other form, governments or enterprises should not pretend have the right to jeopardise the well-being of wild animals and protected lands. Firstly, because of environment for the essential, abides out of the human commercial trades and there is no need for us to impinge upon wilderness areas. On the other hand, it would also be akin to ranking the life's value between different species. The life of dogs and cats would then significantly worth, while white bears are of scant importance. By enacting laws in favour of environment’s protection, governments but also international institutions would preserve it.

The debate might even extend to the pleasant aspects of these areas, whose bucolic beauty and unique characteristics are what constitute the truly essence of our planet. Not only the aesthetes benefit from them, but they also provide an important source of incomes. Economic gain through tourism, for instance, flow from these areas.

Insofar, wilderness areas should be developed for potential economic gain, entrepreneurs and government must find a common ground to do it on behalf of all the species that could be affected by it, and, more generally, not on the altar of our environment. Business areas having been modified a great number of times or financial processes altering along the evolution of the mankind, are testament to the fact that economy, despite Earth, is the result of an amalgamation of human's knowledge and implementations. As institutions and governments are also able to provide informations on the interstellar system, can send people in different planets, they must be able to transition our economic pattern into something more viable. It may sound quixotic and opponents would argue that wars, for instance, are deleterious as well, but the emergency we are all facing urge all of us to reshuffle the ways we think and behave.