Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

If life were a book, school and college would be the first chapters, paving the way for witting citizens, and high intellectual and moral standards of a society. The dialectical process entailed and its positive outcomes as detailed below, are the cornerstone of education, but also of democracies, and more widely, political systems. This habit has to be taken since the early stages of education as it fuels an avid desire to learn and of curiosity.

Asking "why" and thus challenging one's interlocutor sayings, might seem of scant importance but is actually the basis of a germane and rhetorical discussion. This implies a plethora of additional and underlying questions, often common to disparate subjects; and this appearently prosaic word actually sets the terms for a broadened debate. By not remaining stolid towards knowledge, students arise the issue of its legitimacy but also of its aim and meaning, subsuming the genesis of the fact imparted and the motives of the potential stakeholders related to it. It is also a unique way for professors to justify themselves, and thus keeping away feelings as boredom or tiredness, which might be waxed over the years.

One should also stop and consider why human is the most advanced known-species. It is the mavericks' inclinations of getting off the beaten track, following path less traveled nay creating new ones, but also of questioning the theories, beliefs and achievements considered as gospel truth during zeitgeist, that have permitted enhancing the well-being of a great number of people, and keeping to heighten the celerity with which we culminate in doing wonders. The arts, which under all its forms find wide merits in criticising governments, conventions and in bringing forth incipient ideas, embody the importance of such a practice. As painting, literature or music influence many people, students should try to best replicate this pattern specific to this field, since they enter school.

Opponents may argue that educational systems are not designed such as students would be able to always question the knowledge imparted, and that being teacher is sufficiently hard considering the multitude of duties they have. I'm not inclined to contest such a reality, for only few countries provide their citizens with all the needed means to reach their apotheosis as students and individuals. However, I truly believe that the art of questioning is an attitude that must be adopted not only in the frame of a course, but also in the familial nest during evening meals or in debates amongst friends. This acts as a bulwark against complacency, endemic disease of our society; prevents people from being mould out into robots, delineates the idyosyncracies peculiar to each persona, and is the first step for carving out strong personality's traits and true character.

Conversely, questioning what students are taught should not hamper their learning. In philosophy, questioning implies to acknowledge not knowing anything. Therefore, they should also accept that they aren't the best knowledgeable of the class, or the world, and listen to pundits. One can't ignore the adolescent's tendency, despite not generalised, to put themselves in a form of opposition. This is true is myriad scenarios and all the more in the educational surrounding. There is, for some contents such as maths theorems or historical datums, no need for calling these into question, which is neither amount to accepting it passively. The effort made to understand an information shouldn't always be paired with its permanent reassessment.